We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch”
Review of Cafe Venice

Cafe Venice
Ranked #17 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an intimate bistro style restaurant located in the Historic District of Downtown Venice. Our Menu is Continental with a French and Polynesian flair. Don't let the name fool you-this is not an Italian restaurant. Walk or Bike to local shops and beaches and parks. Outside dining is available. Reservations accepted and walk ins welcome. Separate Lunch and Dinner Menu. Casual Fine Dining and Wine Bar (we do offer a full bar). We are very close to Venice Little Theatre now known as Venice Theatre. We are happy to accommodate all Theatre diners. Restaurant and full service catering are available. Lunch 11:30-3:00 (Mon - Sat),Dinner open at 5 (Mon - Sat),Sunday hours are dinner only (SEASONALLY)-call for availability. We serve a smaller menu between 3pm and 5pm outside or at the bar as well.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Lunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went to Cafe Venice for a family lunch totaling 12 people on a Saturday afternoon with shopping in downtown Venice thereafter. The service was spot on, the food was unbelievably delicious, the atmosphere was terrific. Everyone ordered a main entree and by the time lunch was over we had all shared each others lunches, remarking over how tasty and fresh everyone's food was. Tried the Grilled Romaine Heart and the fried Spinach as a lunch appetizers. We even ordered dessert and that put lunch over the top!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for the nice write up! We try to make everyone feel special..and so happy to hear you liked the food. Next time you're in-dine on the Terrace and check it out..it's been fabulous out there..and a great spot to enjoy downtown too!
Cheers!
Michelle-PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    163
    60
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great tasting and wonderfully presented food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here prior to shopping. We enjoyed a glass of wine along with the highly recommended grilled romaine heart salad (superb)!! We also ordered the jumbo stuffed shrimp and the caprese. Both appetizers and salad were split between us. A small baguette was also served. This was more than enough for two.
Our server was attentive and pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for the great comments, and very happy to hear you enjoyed your appetizers. I noticed the picture of the dog in your profile. Are you aware that we have permits for "doggy dining"and you are able to bring your pets to dine w/you on our terrace? We even have hand sanitizer provided at the specified tables. Hopefully we'll see you in often to enjoy more wine and treats and look for you to come in with your friends (and furry friends).
Thanks again and glad you enjoyed it!
Cheers,
Michelle-PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A solid quality restaurant with wonderful service.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Cafe Venice is a fixture in downtown Venice and with good reason. When we moved here a few years ago, we loved the ambiance of the place but were somewhat unimpressed with the food. Since then, however, the kitchen has had a sort of renaissance resulting in an excellent dining experience.

Lunch - The best in town. Period. Sandwiches, quiches, soups, salads - all top notch and reasonably priced.

Dinner - The entrees are well-prepared to order. Special favorites include the Veal Medallions and the Veal Chop. The bride tends to lean towards the fish which is always prepared just so. The grilled romaine salad is lovely - just be prepared to share it because it is huge.

The wine list is extensive and not over-priced. The servers are friendly and efficient.

So why only only a 4 out of 5 rating, you ask. Some of the items on the appetizer menu are obviously brought in pre-made and frozen. It's just a pet peeve of mine. I asked the owner, Kay (a lovely lady), why she kept them and she said they were some of her most popular items. I guess there's now accounting for the tastebuds of tourists.

Anyway, go eat here. You will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bantling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many Thanks for the nice comments! Glad you guys luv us. (I know the exact appetizer you are talking of that comes in frozen.....it's the Duck Potstickers....and they just must not be your thing, as believe it or not-people love them). But...everything else is made fresh---and of course you can't leave w/out sharing the grilled romaine heart! It's delish! Next time you are in..you have to try the newest addition...(avialalbe if we have them)...the Prince Edward Island Mussels. I think they are great to share and you will luv them!
See you soon...
Cheers~!
Michelle-PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely meal. Excellent service.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our server was very professional. Best service I've ever experienced in the Venice area. Delicious portobello mushroom appetizer. We enjoyed our dinners - my filet cooked perfectly medium-rare, and my husband's fish was excellent and topped with lobster. We'll be back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BBJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for the nice write up! We will look foward to seeing you again soon. Sounds like you enjoyed the Grouper Special...and we typically change that recipe up ever day--(but we also have Seabass-and that's a great one to try as well!

Bon Appetite
Michelle-PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Occassions”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff is great! We love the attention they give to our family. We have had several family gatherings and it always makes it a special night. Love the fried spinach - who would have thought??? Great entertainment as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to do a nice write up on here for other travelers! We do strive to give every guest proper attention and make them feel special and important! I'm so thankful you noticed...as that is always our goal!! We'll see you again soon I hope.

Thanks for being a great customer and Bon Appetit
Michelle-PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Venice also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing