We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LebV”
Review of Cafe Venice

Cafe Venice
Ranked #17 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are an intimate bistro style restaurant located in the Historic District of Downtown Venice. Our Menu is Continental with a French and Polynesian flair. Don't let the name fool you-this is not an Italian restaurant. Walk or Bike to local shops and beaches and parks. Outside dining is available. Reservations accepted and walk ins welcome. Separate Lunch and Dinner Menu. Casual Fine Dining and Wine Bar (we do offer a full bar). We are very close to Venice Little Theatre now known as Venice Theatre. We are happy to accommodate all Theatre diners. Restaurant and full service catering are available. Lunch 11:30-3:00 (Mon - Sat),Dinner open at 5 (Mon - Sat),Sunday hours are dinner only (SEASONALLY)-call for availability. We serve a smaller menu between 3pm and 5pm outside or at the bar as well.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LebV”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Wonderful family restaurant. Took large group of ladies there (36) they were treated like royalty. Food as alway excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Ida, Thanks so much for the nice comments. So glad to hear you and all the ladies enjoyed themselves and hopefully we will see you again soon. We'd be more than happy to accomodate your group again! Don't be a stranger
Bon Appetite!
Michelle
PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    163
    60
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great little downtown Venice restaurant. Seafood plus

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RoadHogCharlestonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed! Come again! Have some new summer wines!
Bon Appetit!!
Michelle
PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed an upscale dining experience! As it happens we were there for the "Savor Sarasota" restaurant week (June 1-14). We had their $25 special, and it was really, really good! Our meals: Balsamic salad, mozerella & tomatoes, chicken picatta, crab cakes, key lime pie. All were exceptionally flavorful, very nicely presented. Service was friendly and timed just right. Portions were generous - we took home food for another dining treat the next day. Overall, this is our best meal, so far, on our current road trip. Our bill was $63 for two, including two glasses of house wine. As we are not local, cannot really comment on the cost - it was well worth what we paid. There are outdoor sidewalk tables - too hot for us in June, but nice in appropriate weather.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
So glad that you found us through Savor Sarasota week! It's an excellent opportunity to try out local places when it's not as busy as in season, and it's offered every summer-so stay on the lookout. You can always check their website or ours-we usually try to link it from our website and you can check out the special menus offered--but it's always over the summer!
Don't be a stranger-we'll look forward to having you soon.
Michelle
PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice,FL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charm on the Island”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Cafe Venice is right downtown in Venice, FL. The food is superb, fresh and consistently well prepared. The waitresses are attentive and the restaurant is spotless. This is a good place to sit outside and people watch or enjoy the indoor dining.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for the great rfeview-I hope it helps visitors and travelers decide to come check us out! Downtown Venice is an excellent place to visit-I hope you enjoyed your time down here...so after you shop-drop in and have a bite to eat with us! We're glad to have you!
Michelle
PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sidewalk dining”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Eating outside allows you to enjoy the great out of doors as well as passerbys

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed the new outside dining here at Cafe Venice. It's great for people to just look for the purple awning and enjoy the outside when the weather is good. Hopefully you enjoyed the food and service just as much! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we'll look for you soon!
Bon Apetite
Michelle
PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Venice also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing