We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It”
Review of Mi Pueblo

Mi Pueblo
Ranked #12 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love It”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I think it is the best Mexican food in the area. Sometimes crowded, but well worth waiting for. As with any place with a lot of people it is loud. There are some table outside in the terrace, less noise and comfortable as long as it's not too hot or raining.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colo_Slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    176
    90
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“This Is The Best Mexican Food I've Ever Eaten”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I know you're going to think that I'm crazy putting myself on the line saying that this place is the best but I've also eaten at their two other locations and must say that all three are equal in quality,service and value. The Venice location is extremely busy and you'll have to make a reservation ahead of time. When you finally sit down, you will have a geat choice of reasonably priced meals and some of the tastiest things you've ever put into your mouth. They bring out a basket,complimentary of course, of the greatest and lightest chips ever and along with it some some nice Salsa. Service is prompt and thorough. Servers are always checking your water glass. Certain nights they have a Mariachi Band that walks table to table. At the University location, they had a magician entertaining from table to table. I loved the great value when my check arrived and thought that Mi Pueblo was one of the most reasonably priced retaurants in all of the Venice/Sarasota area. I hope you enjoy any of the three places as much as I did. Good Luck and have fun. That's what it's all about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljounalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want fresh - go somewhere else.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have no complaints about Lili our waitress. After enduring some stale chips that weren't warm and not so fresh salsa, we got our entrees. My wife got the #6 that came with a burnt black/stale taco. I got the #7 which came with a burnt/stale chimichanga. Wash it down with stale tea and you've got yuck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AckandAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top notch packaged food.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'll start with the positive. The decor is nice, and the Strawberry Margarita's are very good, and that's it for the positive. For anyone that has ever experienced eating good, authentic Mexican food, you'll know immediately what I'm talking about when you start to partake of his food. The food is definitely from jars, cans, and packages. Chips out of a bag. Cheese sauce from a jar or can. Food is very bland tasting. This place obviously relies on knowing the customers are more than likely not familiar with real Mexican food, and therefore they can get away with serving the tasteless food that hey do. I'm not one of these people. I've dined at authentic Mexican restaurants in Chicago, and in the Southwest part of the U.S. Mi Pueblo doesn't come close. I will mention that the staff was nice. Kudos for that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bueno Tex Mex Ambience---Mediocre Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

While I greatly appreciate the Tex Mex atmosphere, this dining experience is lacking in every other way. The service is good, but not terribly friendly, and the food is mediocre at best. I have dined here with family several times over several years and have had good times in spite of the food. The top shelf margaritas are average. The chips and salsa can be bought at your local grocery store. The cheese enchiladas aren't cooked - cheese is like microwaved, not cooked, and sauce seems poured out of a can and not a true enchilada red sauce gravy as it should be, with not an onion in sight. There may be better menu options but I haven't discovered them. If you're just in it for fun, this is a great place, but don't go here for the food. I'm from Texas and I know Tex Mex. This isn't even close.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiGiCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Pueblo also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mi Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing