We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Sharky's After All These Years”

Sharky's On The Pier
Ranked #23 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London/Philadelphia/Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still Sharky's After All These Years”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been a Sharky's customer since it first opened. I still love it. The bait bucket margarita is the greatest frozen margarita in the world. I've had both sandwich-and-nacho fare as well as full dinners and have never been disappointed. It's worth the 45 to 60-minute wait for an outside table. Take a walk down the pier, or order a bait bucket margarita and sit under the pavilion by the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElmoTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    860
    457
    188
    128
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harriman, Tennessee
Level Contributor
195 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth both your time and money”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great place, right on the beach, monster shrimp and great service. I'll be sure and visit here again when I'm back in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teachcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Atmosphere,Food!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

What Do You Do AT The Beach When It Rains? Out To Lunch, Of Course! Didn't Expect A Wait, But Was Well Worth The Wait. Angie, Our Waitress, Took Excellent Care Of Us...Especially, My 5 Year Old. Started With Wings, ThEn A Grouper Sandwich, Followed By The BEST Key Lime Pie! We Will Definitely Be Back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzyrobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Even locals can feel like they are on vacation”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

There is nothing wrong with being a place frequented by tourists. Everyone likes to feel like they are on vacation and even the locals can be on vacation at Sharkeys. We were here at 7PM on a recent Saturday night. We waited about 40 minutes with Margaritas in hand before we snagged a table with a view of the beach and the Gulf. (Supposedly the outside seating is "first come, first seated" but they ask you to get a place on the list and a "beeper" for outside seating anyway. We never verified how this is supposed to work). Service was very prompt after we were seated and the waitress was friendly and helpful. Several at our table had the coconut shrimp which was flavorful and fried perfectly. I tried the New England Clam Chowder which was served hot and full of clam meat. Although the menu is mostly standard beachy (fried) food, there were no complaints from the 6 at our table. Be sure to walk out the long pier before or after you eat. Beautiful after dark.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice place for summer nightlife, but the wait was far too long for mediocre food. We had very chewy calamari, but the salad was decent. They have live entertainment at the outside seating area, but it was too chilly to sit there. Nice location, would definitely go back for drinks and maybe a snack.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bucksbabe1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharky's On The Pier also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sharky's On The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing