We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Taste of Italy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A Taste of Italy
Ranked #118 of 241 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago
Level Contributor
242 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

There were few Italian restaurants in Venice several years ago, and now they're everywhere it seems. This restaurant is a family business with an Italian Village atmosphere in the back room. High ceilings, movies on the wall, rustic decor add to the ambiance. Service was efficient and friendly, although our server disappeared for quite some time after taking our orders.
The gnocchi were to die for, wood fired flatbread was thin and crispy, and eggplant parm was tasty.
A new Euro-style bar is adjacent and very comfy for a wait. Unfortunately, it was too cool to sit outside, but there are a lot of options. This place should be around for a while.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boltsnnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“jersey Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Being from northern N.J., we know good Italian food and bread. First of all Scott S rather have quantity then quality... We have had three wonderful meals at Taste of Italy. Service was classy and friendly, like we were family. I'm a big guy of Irish descent. 6'2", 280 lbs. i was stuffed all three meals with excellent quality food. If you want great food at a descent price this is your place. If you want tons of poor quality food, and treated like they don't need your business lunas for you. i hope this helps people fill their craving for real Italian food, it's hard to find south of N.J.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
837 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Just ok ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was ok. Not great. Nice atmosphere sitting at sidewalk tables. Bread was hard. Salads are described as "for two" but hardly are. The meals are very pricey for not so much food. They weren't bad entrees but nothing that "wow'ed" us. We live in Venice and likely won't go back. If you want a great Italian meal with awesome bread and great entrees with huge portions for similar pricing then walk one block over to Luna's.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! The food is sooo good! Also the house wine. Sit in the back room because they play old movies on the brick wall at night. So romantic! The tables are close so it's a bit crowded but guess that is how they want it to feel. The stay very busy so sometimes you have to wait to get seated but we think it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunniedays4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on Sunday lunchtime, great tasting pizza and great service. Nice and cool inside with air con, friendly staff and Italian beer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stoneylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Italy also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to A Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing