We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Sun Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Island Sun Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simple and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good location and so friendly!!

The bedrrom was great, clean and spacious, We went on 4th of July and they prepared a 4th of July kit so funny, it was a great suprise. It has a pool and an area to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ROALESP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
57
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this motel for one day in July, while we were visiting family in Venice. I liked the size of the room, we had a King and paid extra for a roll-away bed for our child. And the room had a table and fridge and microwave. We got breakfast from the local donut place and ate it out in the courtyard.

I liked the courtyard. I didn't mind our son playing out there without checking on him every moment. We played the bean bag/ corn hole game which they have out there. It was a big hit. There is a pool, which was very inviting. We swam for a bit, but the problem with the pool is the shallowest portion of the pool is 4 ft, which meant my 7 year old could not stand up in any part of it. So that is very sad. It would have been a great pool for playing in, but not for kids who are short or young.

Our room overlooked the pool/courtyard and I liked the light coming in thru the French doors. But I liked the convenience of parking on the other side. There were 2 entrances to the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altr2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have stayed here a couple times. Always clean and conveniently located. Pool area is awesome. Staff is very friendly. AC was a little annoying at night, rather noisy but cooled well. Look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank draginmom .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice clean motel..clean rooms, comfortable beds..The AC unit is a little annoying as it is noisy at night when you are sleeping, but is does keep the room nice and cool to cold whatever you want. They have upgraded this motel and have painted and renovated the rooms as well. Nice pool area too. Nice to have a small fridge and a microwave also there are two washers and dryers (pricey at 1.75 per load I think) but convenient there are also two dryers, both do a good job. We have been coming here for the last 6 yrs. We come here when we just want a get-a-way weekend and go to the beach and to Sharky's on the beach " great place for a little food and liquid libation as well. I do think there should be a discount for returning patrons even if it is only $20 dollars off your room cost. Overall it is a good place to stay and be close to main street Venice and about 20 min to Siesta Key

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for two weeks with family at this charming motel. At various times we had up to four rooms. All the rooms have been refurbished and are very clean and comfortable. The beds are all new and all the rooms had new flat screen TVs. One of the rooms had a complete kitchen we could use for the whole family. The center court is private and nicely landscaped and includes a pool with ample sun chairs, a Ping pong table and grills for customer use. The general manager and staff are very efficient and friendly. The housekeeping staff took very good care of all of us. There is a very good restaurant on the premises open for breakfast and lunch every day and dinner on Friday and Saturday. It is only a short drive to the gulf beaches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We've stayed here for 3 consecutive years. This hotel could use some work on the outside, but is "quaint" as my boyfriend puts it and is very close to the race staging area and the beach. Recently remodeled rooms are cleaner and nicer as well. The hotel bistro has excellent food and service. The only negative we have is that the price seems to go up a little each year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allready_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The place has been renovated and we stayed in one that was recently done. The general manager was very pleasant. The lobby has a computer for guests.
PROS; The floors were spotless and so nice and shiny, NO ugly carpets here. Our room was
very clean. Wonderful bed, small fridge & micro. New TV. They kept the old tiles and tub
but replaced the vanity, mirror & light fixture. The grounds are lovely and there is a
heated pool 80 degrees. Nice french doors that lead to the garden area and there are
chairs right outside the doors.
CONS: The parking lot needs paving. When you pull up to the front door of your room you will
be disappointed but once inside, you will forget it. There is no curb appeal but the place is
being constantly fixed up.
NO phones, so bring your mobile, the WIFI is very spotty too.

Room Tip: Ask for a freshly renovated room. Do try the restaurant Blu Island Bistro that is on the property an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verjim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.4 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sun Inn

Property: Island Sun Inn
Address: 625 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34285-3237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Island Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sun Hotel Venice
The Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel Venice
Island Sun Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing