We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waitress's Bad Day”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shamrock Cafe

Shamrock Cafe
Ranked #113 of 241 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Venice, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waitress's Bad Day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have always been pleased with my food and service at the Shamrock Cafe until today's experience. It was a real downer to have such a surly waitress. No smile, no conversation, was not even sure we would get our food since it seemed like she was not even listening to our orders.
Food was good, as usual and nicely presented but the wait staff needs to leave
their pesonal problems at the door. I will not be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    59
    14
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
228 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“7 hungry golfers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

After an early morning round of golf, 7 of us decided to go to the Shamrock Cafe for lunch. We were promptly seated and our server arrived quickly to take drink orders. We searched the menu, and made our selections. Several of us ordered the soup of the day...Crab Corn Chowder. It was thick with crab, and oh so full of flavor. One of the best I've ever had. Each of us had a different selection for lunch, and it all arrived as ordered and at the same time. Great job by the kitchen staff! I had the meatloaf sandwich with fries, and the meatloaf was moist and flavorful. The fries were wonderful as well. All of us were quite happy with our meals, and the service was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyinVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've been to the Shamrock cafe before and dinner has been consistently well prepared. Tonight the food and service surpassed our expectations. The blackened cod was done perfectly, and the shrimp scampi were not only delicious but big. The setting is simple but clean and comfortable . This is a nice local spot for good comfortable dining. Nothing fancy ...just good food and good people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyA845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always Great Food - A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a small neighborhood gem that is definitely worth going out of your way for. I've eaten there many times over the past year, breakfast, lunch or dinner and have always had a great meal with prompt service and reasonable prices. Their burgers are the BEST because they use fresh meat every day from the meat market next door. I was there last week with a group of 18 and we had wonderful food, prompt service and couldn't have asked for more. Even if you just drop in by yourself and sit at the bar, it's great. Occasionally, as a woman alone, I like to go out to eat by myself, and this place makes it easy as you can sit at the bar and the staff will spend some time visiting with you. The specials every day are wonderful, too. During snowbird season you should make a reservation because you wont be able to get in the door.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We eat out once a week or so and had never been here, and probably never would, if my parents hadn't invited us to join them. It's in a small strip mall off the beaten path, and just not someplace we ever thought of going. It was a nice homey atmosphere. The menu had a wide variety of choices. Mostly homecooking style foods. Everything was very good from the cheeseburger and meatloaf to the stuffed caggage rolls and cheese lasagna (like I said wide variety). We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJVO_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrock Cafe also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shamrock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing