We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough course with the wind blowing”

Sarasota National Golf Course
Ranked #10 of 28 Outdoor Activities in Venice
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tough course with the wind blowing”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I played this course on Friday, May16th & it was in great shape....at least in the places I hit it :-) The club house staff & the starter were very nice & friendly. Not much to eat at course & the cart girl was nice whenever we saw her which was about three times for the round. The greens were very fast & the wind was wicked.
Lots of water, gators & an eagle or two. Great prices with the Big Summer Golf Card. This is definitely not the worse course.......

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Semi-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    9
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst course in SW florida”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst experience I've ever had at a gold course. The course is a barren wasteland in the middle of an undeveloped golf community. The staff was rude to my friend and I, and the amenities was next to nothing. I understand not allowing coolers on the course, that's fine. But the first time we saw the beverage cart was after we finished the 18th hole. This course would be tolerable if it was in the middle of North Dakota, but with the amount of exceptional courses in SW Florida, this place is a joke.

Helpful?
Thank Joey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great conditions beware of the wind”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This course is set in a wide open area with building lots and future roads separating the holes, but few houses to date. The layout and course conditions are above average for a daily fee course in this area. A spacious practice area and small pro-shop complete the set up. Overall, it's better than most.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pbatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best semi-private course in the area”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We love Sarasota National. We have played it for several year. We are now excited that they are beginning to build homes on the course. It's just a fun course to play.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sarasota National Golf Course”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A great course that is very challenging. Lots of natural grasses and flora and fauna. The pro shop is well staffed and equipped. There is no restaurant on site but there are lots of choices in eating places within 5 minutes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarasota National Golf Course also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota National Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing