We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burnt sauce” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Made In Italy

Made In Italy
Ranked #14 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and Enjoy Fresh Authentic Italian Cuisine. We serve- Antipasti- Insalate- Zuppe- Pasta- Entrees, and Wood Oven Pizza. Now proudly serving fresh fruit martinis and specially crafted cocktails in our beautiful martini bar. Peppe and Alessandro are waiting for you!
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Burnt sauce”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really wanted to like this place but had to tell the truth. To be honest, since I have been going to Italy every year I have been called a food snob. Either that or my standards have become a lot higher. I pasted by this restaurant one evening and to my surprise all the waiters we speaking Italian, even the customers. We decided to stay for dinner so we sat down and ordered a glass of wine. They were very pleasant and brought us some real good home made Italian bread. Now I am getting excited and expect an awesome meal. We were talked into their special, home made pasta with meats and their home made sauce. Well the meal was almost uneatable. The sauce was burnt or something. I was heart broken. All other customers were chowing down like that was their first ever Italian meal. I don't get it. Boy, if those people ever tasted a meal from Italy they would die. Sorry guys.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    251
    108
    38
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food with fantastic servers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for a late lunch and picked this place based on the reviews. We were not disappointed! The minestrone soup was the best I've ever had - made with very fresh vegetables. My husband's caesar salad was better than average. I don't think you could go wrong with any of the woodfired pizzas. We split one with sausage, tomatoes, mozzarella, mushrooms, and truffle oil. The servers were knowledgable, timely, and made great recommendations.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PharmTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Forget the Pasta Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a meal at this restaurant last night and the special past dish was a big mistake. The waiter told us that this was so good that we would think that this dish was so good that we would never forget it for the rest of our life.The dish was served cold so we sent back to the kitchen and they warmed it up and it was just Ok. Then my wife was sick from the meal. I was lucky with the veal dish which was nice.She will never forget the dish so be careful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italy in Venice, Fl? Why yes indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Found this gem by accident! Just strolling down Main St with our pooches and BAM there it was! It was like the angels were singing to us. We love food and we triple love awesome food. Everything is imported from Italy and YUM. Our waiter, Justin-O was great and very knowledgeable about the menu. Explained everything to us in details. I wish I could remember the cheese we had with our appetizer..it was delicious. Fresh, huge chunks of feta cheese in our salad. Nice bread. And our pooches were even allowed to sit outside with us. We only had appetizers, but we will be going here again very soon to try the pizza's; true wood burning pizza oven and their fresh made pastas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent food, gracious owners, courteous and efficient wait staff and an abundance of atmosphere are what make Made In Italy such a popular restaurant in Venice. There is seating available inside, on the sidewalk in front of the restaurant or on the back patio. If you choose inside seating, the fun is in watching pizza and bread being made in the open wood burning brick oven. I have eaten here several times and have always been delighted with what was served.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Embeelemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Made In Italy also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Made In Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing