We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch ”
Review of Blu' Island Bistro

Blu' Island Bistro
Ranked #6 of 252 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A local hot spot where everyone knows your name! Chef/Owner Alan Laskowski, Culinary Institute of America Alumunus delivers a gourmet twist on everyday favorites. Chef Alan won the local Iron Chef, Best of Philadelphia, People's Choice Award and many more. From meat lovers to vegetarians, and the gluten free, we have something for everyone. Comfortable and chic, just a few blocks away from the beautiful gulf of mexico. Located conveniently on the Island of Venice, one block south of Venice Hospital, attached to the Island Sun Inn Hotel. Breakfast/Lunch 6 days with breakfast all day that give the word creative all new meaning. Restaurant, Private Parties, Catering, Private Party Room.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Another great lunch at Blu Inland Bistro. I had the Philly pork roll sandwich it was delicious. My wife had the grills cheese bacon & tomato with a cup of tomato crab bisque. It was awesome!! Chef Alan's hellacious sauce was great for dipping. Be careful though, it has a kick!

Thank Elimav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan L, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Elimav,

Wow, thank you for the great review! We truly appreciate you choosing us for your dining experience. We hope to see you again!

Chef/Owner Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 869 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

The eggs benedict with REAL crab meat.. yummy!! The roasted veggies omelet, very good too! Great service

Thank MnSAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan L, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! So pleased you enjoyed breakfast, and our service. Hope to see you again, and thanks for choosing us!

Chef/Owner Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just had possibly the best sandwich I've ever eaten at Blu Island. It's the blackened grouper with homemade tarter sauce and arugula. The fish was perfectly cooked-and-seasoned and the tarter sauce was delicious. But perhaps most impressive was the homemade ciabatta role upon which it was served. Tender and tasty...the sandwich contents did NOT slide out the opposite side when you bit into it. Team it up with their fabulous onion rings, and you have a winner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan L, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hi Susan!

Thank you so much! So pleased you enjoyed our grouper sandwich and onion rings! Truly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and a wonderful one at that :) Hope to see you again and please say hello next time you are in!

Chef/Owner Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice decor, great waitress, is hard to think of a flaw in this cute restaurant. I had the onion rings and chicken tacos. Both were incredible. Definetely going back when in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natasha_Blue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Natasha,

Thank you! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and I am very pleased we will see you again!

Thanks again,
Chef/Owner Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Darling, charming little place with friendly people seating and serving you! Menu has so many delicious and interesting choices. Prices are reasonable. I love that they serve breakfast items during the day. Portobello mushroom sandwich was delicious (though I didn't really understand grilling the tomato with the mushroom resulting in a not-so-appealing cooked tomato.) Looking forward to going back as this is a place that has it all...inviting, cozy atmosphere, friendly people, good food, good menu, priced right.

Thank DiningInFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dining in Florida,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Your experience is exactly what we strive for! I am so glad you were happy, and I will be sure to share your review with all of my staff. Thank you for choosing us to dine in Venice!

Chef/Owner Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu' Island Bistro also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blu' Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing