We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Blu' Island Bistro

Blu' Island Bistro
Ranked #6 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A local hot spot where everyone knows your name! Chef/Owner Alan Laskowski, Culinary Institute of America Alumunus delivers a gourmet twist on everyday favorites. Chef Alan won the local Iron Chef, Best of Philadelphia, People's Choice Award and many more. From meat lovers to vegetarians, and the gluten free, we have something for everyone. Comfortable and chic, just a few blocks away from the beautiful gulf of mexico. Located conveniently on the Island of Venice, one block south of Venice Hospital, attached to the Island Sun Inn Hotel. Breakfast/Lunch 6 days with breakfast all day that give the word creative all new meaning. Restaurant, Private Parties, Catering, Private Party Room.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went here last week for lunch with girlfriends...made a reservation and got right in. Delighted with the menu plus daily specials. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. I had the mussel bisque which was silky and full of juicy plump little mussels. I also had the fish tacos and asked for extra pico de gallo which I had to wait a minute for because it was being chopped up fresh in the kitchen...YUMMY. The group ordered three desserts and we were swooning. The chocolate cake was fudgy and rich, the key lime mousse torte was tart and creamy and the carrot cake had crushed pineapple in it. We rolled out vowing to return for breakfast and dinner as well!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    202
    43
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my second visit... and there'll be many more!

First off, the staff are fun and friendly, and AnnMarie especially is knowledgeable and amazing! She's aware of vegan options (and other food-conscious issues), which is always great for my eclectic family. On to the food!
The seafood chowder is to die for, and the Mediterranean Platter with cucumber salad, tabbouleh, and hummus incomparable. My husband oohed and aahed over the crab cake sandwich, and my son loved the veg tacos! Mom loved the quiche (even taking some home for breakfast the next morning!) and my Dad loved his sandwich, too... The homemade chips (crisps) are yummy, too!

Don't miss this little spot across from the Rialto Shopping Center (by Goodwill and Planet Beer & Wine) on the Island. Prices are modest for gourmet food, and staff is great! I haven't met the chef yet, but when I've had questions or needed modifications, he is extremely accommodating and I appreciate him!

My family will be going back very soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DhabaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Food!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great lunch here...Could have ordered nearly everything on the menu but we settled on a turkey reuben and a BLT sandwich with arugula and fried green tomato!! If you are in the area do not miss this small restaurant. Friendly staff and good prices!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Philly + CIA = A+ Experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Chef is a Philadelphia area native. He's combined his raw/Philly talent, Culinary Institute of America trainig with the result of an outstanding, interesting, reasonably priced results. The restaurant itself has a cozy ambience. Reservations are recommend--particularly during the "bird" season.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lldinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“solid choice for breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Blu Island Bistro took over a former restaurant at the entrance of a motel across from the Venice hospital. Don't be fooled by the location because the food is outstanding. The Tuesday morning we were there it was crowded but no one waiting. They have specialty omelets and sandwiches. We had both and they were very, very good. The wait staff were very friendly with the customers and cooperated well with each other which led to quick service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twofromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu' Island Bistro also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blu' Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing