We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The usual” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #161 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Denny's chain restaurant in Venice, Florida.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The usual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Denny's is a good place to go when you're somewhere you don't know well, and you want a reliable source of sustenance. Our experience was average. One thing I really liked was their honoring of a young veteran who came in with his parents. They treated him to a free dinner, which was very nice. And the waiter who had seen us through a couple glitches in our meal treated us to a free dessert. They are trying. I just think our area has so much more to offer in eateries, that Denny's will remain as a friendly place that's open late when everyone else has closed and you're hungry.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank h00sierbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great visit to Dennys for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Went to Denny's for breakfast had the healthy skillet option and loved it will be back, great service thank you

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Place for Breakfast & More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

My breakfast at Denny's the other day was their large, fluffy $2 stack-of-two pancakes and coffee--both satisfying to get me started for the day. My wife had a healthful bowl of oatmeal with the trimmings she likes.

I got my morning news on my Nook tablet via Denny's free WIFI. Others who wanted a less interactive news feed enjoyed the news on the large-screen TVs.

Dan (the manager) and his team have made this an excellent choice for breakfast--really good food, attentive wait staff, an aim-to-please attitude, and support for my morning Internet news. And, importantly, a genuine sense of "we're glad you're here".

I've enjoyed this Denny's so much that in this review I've tried to convey not just my satisfaction with the experience but also some of the extras a patron can enjoy there. This is a breakfast place where everyone can know your name.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChetRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THIS DENNY'S IS RUN LIKE A FAMILY STYLE RESTAURANT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Dan Mahoney, Manager treats his customers, employees and his Denny's restaurant just like he owned it. As a fellow small business person, I can't pay Dan a bigger compliment than that. He has put together one super team of folks, like my people at Best Dry Cleaners FL in Nokomis FL they want to keep you smiling.

The menus is super and offers great choices at more than reasonable prices. Quality and quantity of food is plentiful.

I eat at Denney's virtually every Saturday after I close up my dry cleaning shop. The waitrers and waitresses are all very friendly and know their menus extremely well.

Eat at this Venice FL Denny's you will be happy that you did.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneatBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not like the other denny's.....here's the difference !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This Denny's is different because its clean ! The staff is clean ! The food is cooked and presented in an attractive manner. This denny's is really good. I've been to other dennys locations before and the waitresses are sweating in your food, ot screaming to the cook. I am impressed how even though this is a chain, this dennys seems to be run as a mom and pop place where the staff cares and likes their jobs. Moons over my hammy is the best ! The whole menu is mouth watering, and what makes it nice is that if there is something you aren't to keen on, the staff is happy to please.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing