We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Pier”

Venice Fishing Pier
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Venice Fishing Pier, 1600 Harbor Dr. S., Venice Island, FL 34285. OPEN DAILY. Fishing License is NOT Required. The Venice Fishing Pier is located at Brohard Park on the south end of the island of Venice, and is owned by the City of Venice. The 700-foot Pier is a great location for fishing and to end the day watching a beautiful sunset. Connected to Sharky's on the Pier, the only beachfront restaurant in the Venice area, the Pier offers Papa's Bait Shop, with live & frozen bait, coffee, treats, jackets, shirts, and more. Nearby are six picnic shelters, two sand volleyball courts, and public restrooms with showers. Open at all times. There is no fee to access the Pier and avid and amateur fisherman of all ages can fish from the Pier without a fishing license.
Gainesville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just a Pier”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We head out to Venice for the shark teeth every year, but this was our first walk out on the pier. Sharky's is under construction to expand but we didn't let that slow us down. You do have to walk through the restaurant and right by people eating their food to get out on the pier, but it's free. Plenty of fishermen out, which was nice to see, but stinky. I always love piers because you can look back to land and get a different view of the area but I didn't want to stay long out on Venice Pier. It was dirty, obviously a fishing pier. Probably wouldn't take the time to visit this pier again but glad I took this opportunity.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cnrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    274
    69
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eveleth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sharky's under construction, but don't let that turn you away.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This pier is a must visit every time my family and I are in the area. The long walk to the end is refreshing and is a great way to take in the scenic views. The locals who fish here don't seem to mind you watching them fish, however stay out of their way. In my experience I've found this is the best place to find shark teeth, but you're going to need a long handled beach rake that you see everyone using. You'll also have to go out a ways to get the bigger ones. Chest height is about as far as I'd go and I've gotten a decent haul in the past. The waves were high during my latest visit and I was only able to get 4. Overall, a bad day at the beach still beats a great day at work!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading England
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We expected an interesting pier but it was run down and a disappointment”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The restaurant was under expansion, there was nothing inviting about the place. Nothing in the area. Give it a miss!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun to Fish off of or to Just Walk on.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have a meal on the beach and then cast your line in to see what you will catch. You can get bait and tackle as you go or bring your own. There are places you can clean your catch. There are a variety of people just walking the pier watching the sea and the birds hoping you will catch and clean a fish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fishing”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Did some fishing. Catching mackerel from the jetty. Lots of others there. Parking is somewhat an issue. Recommend you walk, is possible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dryfly0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Fishing Pier also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venice Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing