We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place for the pups!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brohard Paw Park

Brohard Paw Park
Ranked #4 of 58 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A fantastic place for the pups!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Set along the beautiful Gulf, is a large section of beach set aside for people who want to have their dogs on the beach. Large parking area, and a nice stroll over a private boardwalk to get to the beach. An enclosed doggie area is next to the parking lot, where there are showers for you to be able to clean your dogs with. It's just a really picturesque beach area where the dogs can run free and be with their owners. A really popular spot for locals and visitors alike. You are expected to pick up after your pet of course, and it seems that most people do. Course there are always those that think that their dogs poopie is some sort of a beach decoration, go figure! There is virtually no undertow and few waves, but we have seen dogs (little ones especially) get into trouble and have had to have their owners go get them. Have to keep an eye on them around water you know, but it's a beautiful place to do it in!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PILOT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    69
    12
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Doggie Etiquette”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friends love their dog Spike so much that the bring him from the Orlando area to visit Paw Park for the weekend. Since I have cats, I had no idea what to expect when I met my pals at the beach. The park is easy to find on the way to Casperson Beach in Venice - just past Sharkey's. It is secure and you must pass through gates to arrive at the beach which is good in case your dog likes to bolt from the beach to the car. There is an area near the parking lot where you can rinse off your shaggy pet. Generally the dogs at the beach are well behaved and their owners are attentive. From time to time, owners get involved with chatting and neglect their duties in overseeing their charges. This is not good if you have a little dog and a big dog gets out of hand. Rules of doggie etiquette should be maintained however the beach has been kept clean and the water is pleasant for man and beast. While the pets are having fun romping on their play dates, owners can make new friends too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JHannah426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLA RICA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My dog had a ball!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a clean, large, well kept park. This was the first time my dog had seen the ocean. There were lots of dogs there but the other owners kept theirs under control. Most dogs were running free and obeyed voice commands. Other reviewers have mentioned seeing lots of feces, but we did not see anything. The park was extremely clean. I loved the small fenced areas near the parking lot and the water hose to rinse the dogs off before getting in the car.
It is a small beach, I wish it was larger!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Makes me smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We own two fur children. This is a great place for families with pups. It is fun to watch the fur children run and play in the sand and surf.

Helpful?
2 Thank Venice245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Greyt First Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My Greyhound had her first "beach" experience here and she was so excited she didn't know what to do first! Found out that she does not know what to do in the water, but we'll get her to swim the next time! Nice, clean, good people, so far.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Narfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brohard Paw Park also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Brohard Paw Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing