We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza so far in Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Maria's

Mama Maria's
Ranked #81 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Boston
Level Contributor
170 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best pizza so far in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

. We've had a couple of takeout pizzas in the last couple of years at parties from Mama Maria's, so when we were in the mood for pizza, we thought we'd drive down, sit down and eat a pizza. We have been loooking for a "go to" place for pizza. The owners are from our home state of Mass, so we figured it would be what we are used to. We ordered a meatball and mushroom pizza. It didn't disappoint. I don't think I would get the meatball again (I prefer veggie only) but my husband liked it. The crust and thickness is excellent, sauce good and plenty of cheese.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Pizza in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I been been going here for years. I am from NYC and grew up on pizza. Mama Maria's has the best pizza in Venice in my opinion. Also I love their chicken parm heros (subs for you non new yorkers) There is a reason this place is always busy, fair price great food.....forgetaboutit !!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank capthookny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Subs in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Been looking for a really good sub restaurant in Venice for a while. Mama Maria's is what we found and worth sharing.

Generous portions, good-tasting, fresh rolls, relaxed atmosphere. If you wants subs (or pizza, others tell me), this place satisfies.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChetRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, lousy hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The food is great. Great pizza, great lasagna, great calzones. Try the Steak Bomb. But they have wierd hours. They close at 9pm, but you better place your delivery order by 8:15. And even at that, they will have ovens and such shut off already, so choices are limiited. If they have orders backed up, they will also quit taking new orders so the driver can be off the clock by 9pm. If you go for sit-down, at 8:30 they stop seating. It seems the 9pm closing time means they want to be out the door at 9pm. So just be there well before closing time, or you will be turned away.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Only good pizza I've found in area... Grew up in Italian section of
Boston and this is as good as it gets in this area... Good subs too

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ker68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Maria's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mama Maria's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing