We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like this place,but!”

Norma Jean's Sport Bar & Grill
Ranked #111 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really like this place,but!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We are in the area for a couple months and have been here a couple times. We actually really like the place. It has a nice comfortable atmosphere. The food seems just average. I really just have to say I have never seen such a skinny piece of chicken breast on a grilled chicken sandwich. It tasted good, but I've had bigger pieces of chicken at a fast food place, especially considering it was 8$! I wouldn't recommend it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaciann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    84
    60
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ok place”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

had the hamburger and it was good but not special,good service and our food was good however this place was busy so it took some time to get service and our food,we will go back but on off hrs.We are very tired of outside smoking tables letting smoke in every time the door opens and also having to breath it just to enter the resturant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herv r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shrimp to die for”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just retuned from our vacation in Venice again and my wife absolutely loves the shrimp(4 times) We watched the Super Bowl at Norma Jeans and won the Super Bowl XLVII Bud Light refrigerator.Barry the owner, and his staff are GREAT !!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a great place! We had some wings to start & they were nice and meaty with great flavor. Then we each had a burger to die for! The waitstaff was very friendly & helpful...we asked for a certain game & they put it on our very own tv in our booth! You can watch any game you want!!!!! Doesn't get any better than that!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marc5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing to call home about, OK burger, management..UGH”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had the mushroom burger and for some reason thought ordering a chicken cesar salad was a bright idea at a sports bar. So, if you didn't guess already the salad was blah. The burger was cooked a little more the medium but at least there was some pink left. My biggest thing..really canned mushrooms? I hate that! Especially, when you're paying $9 for a burger. The service was ok. Nothing bad or good that stood out. When it was time for us to pay it was such a hassle! For some reason their CC machine was acting up. Instead of writing the card info down and grabbing a copy of my DL license; like the good 'ol days..we sat there for over an hour. Mind you the place was closed by this time. (they close at 10pm) They could have handled it much better then they did. The owner or manager came to deal with it and he acted like it was our fault, even after talking to my bank on the phone. That was super annoying. No 'sorry for the inconvenience' or 'sorry that its now 11:25 pm and you are still here, have a beer on us while you wait'
Food OK, management is why we won't go back and its the closest sports bar to us.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RockyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norma Jean's Sport Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Norma Jean's Sport Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing