We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quick overnight pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
trenton, nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quick overnight pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We needed one night in Venice while doing some househunting. Could not find much in the reasonably priced category until we found the Oza Inn and a coupon from TA. Our queen suite met my expectations. The owners were super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had all the basics. Our suite even had a frig with microwave and coffee pot. The snacks in the lobby were a nice touch too. It's a different experience from all the chains and a pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wudy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZAINN, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are now offering complimentary breakfast in the morning and free snacks,fruits, deserts, coffee and tea whole day.
We have wide selection of teas and Keurig, Danessi ,Manuel coffee.
In OZA café room free of charge OZA INN customers.

It was nice having you.
OZA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
45
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is clean, friendly quirky accommodation at a reasonable price. After staying in some terrible places run by the major chains I wish there was somewhere similar in every town in the USA. It's a lovingly renovated old fashioned motel, with the friendliest people running it - nothing is too much trouble. I love the way that the character of the old place has been brightened up whilst keeping many of the original features - I particularly liked the original tiles in the small but perfectly adequate shower room - like the rest of the place, going back in time without many of the down sides. This is probably the cleanest and freshest place I have stayed in during many visits to the states, possibly enhanced by the Scandinavian style furnishings which along with the beds I think work well.
The downside is the location, on a busy junction, with difficult access. However, the noise from the road did not disturb me, and I'm usually bothered by such things. It's a short drive into Venice, which is a nice little seaside town.
So, if you are expecting a traditional resort type place to spend your time in the pool, I'd think again, but if you need an overnight stay or a base to explore the area, then this is great.

Room Tip: Away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been touring around the US since early December & arrived in Florida in Jan. We were planning on doing all of Florida until we reach the Oza Inn in Venice. We planned on stopping just 3 nights then moving on..But we loved it so much there we ended up staying just over a month..Its a close family run business, who are so lovely . They made our stay so relaxing, a wonderful atmosphere indeed. Our room was fantastic. The cleanest motel ever. We enjoyed our coffee/ hot choc. And snacks/ breakfast everyday from the fab complimentary guest cafe. The cleaning staff were also so lovely. This is truly a wonderful place to stay.. And on stop of this Venice & the Beaches are a must .Tina & Roe England..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trmelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZAINN, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Our housekeeping personal would like to thank you for appreciation of their work.
They are very pleased to know that their dedication to make place immaculate is recognized.
Hello from Teresita, Arlene, Oksana, Dmytro, and Sasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Oza Inn before and when we are in Venice now we only want to stay there. The rooms are minimalistic...a great clean, sleek look with all the amenities. The beds are state of the art - when I first learned of this hotel my concern was the bed - my husband was injured and needs really good supportive beds - I researched the beds at Oza and learned they are very special. So we booked our first stay there. My husband gets one of the best nights sleep of our tour in our Oza room. We stay in hotels all over the country - we are music and touring is our life. We wish all of our hotels were Oza Inns. The folks that own and operate it could not be more considerate and accomodating. I love my lattes in the morning in their complimentary guest cafe. If you need anything they are there in a moment - aways putting your needs first. Sweet people. Like going home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one night here as we traveled up the coast. The room was clean and the staff was very nice and friendly. The beds in our room were really different for a motel! They were platform beds and comfortable, but were creaky and noisy if you moved around on them. The bathroom was small, as was the shower. Overall, it seemed more like a guest room in someone's vacation cottage, kind of thrown together. However, it was clean, the TV worked, the price was sure welcome, and everyone was so nice. So- OK for a night if you aren't too picky. It is just off a major route so was easy to find, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: It is basically a strip motel- rooms farther from the road might be quieter. Didn't seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This motel has large, clean, comfortable rooms and is conveniently located. The owners are pleasant and helpful. However, it should be listed as a motel, not as an inn. It is on a very busy thoroughfare filled with strip malls. The rooms have metal platform beds and there is a telephone shower but these hardly qualify it as "European." Our stay there was perfectly pleasant; we appreciated the good sized kitchenette with table and chairs, toaster, microwave and mini-fridge. But we found nothing charming here.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a larger room because staying three nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This little independent motel has a heated outdoor pool year round, the rooms have a clean fresh look to them, they are some of the cleanest we've encountered. It is a family business and the owners are helpful and work hard to make your stay a pleasant one. Recommended. (I do not know how to give a hotel a rating for "location." It seems as though that would depend on where you need to be.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llee611838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
2.7 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
1.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Motel

Property: Sunshine Motel
Address: 1602 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34293-1633 (Formerly Oza Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSHINE MOTEL is newly renovated motel featuring European style decor with immaculate, quiet guestrooms and suites. Enjoy our heated pool, WI-FI, HD/TV and gazebo areas. SUNSHINE MOTEL is proud to serve our customers across all cultures. We pledge to serve our customers with respect, honesty and our main purpose is to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere where you will relax and enjoy your stay. SUNSHINE MOTEL is located just 7 minute's drive from popular Venice beaches Caspersen beach the longest beach in Sarasota County. Venice Municipal beach is excellent place to find sharks teeth and other fossilized material and attracts divers to its coral reef about one quarter mile offshore. Sharky's On the Pier Restaurant is a Venice landmark located just 5 minute's drive from SUNSHINE MOTEL. Warm Springs in North Port are located just 15 minute's drive from SUNSHINE MOTEL. SUNSHINE MOTEL IS PET AND SMOKE FREE ENTITY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sunshine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Motel Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing