We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Deli, Not a Restaurant”
Review of Kt Vietnamese Cafe - CLOSED

Kt Vietnamese Cafe
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a Deli, Not a Restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our group of six visited K.T. Deli for lunch. They make sandwiches, fries and burgers and have some Vietnamese offerings.
Overall, we felt that the food did not come up to the expectations we had from reading the reviews. The salad greens and single herb were fresh but the meats used were disappointing. The Chicken BUN used a processed chicken and did not have much flavor. The pour over sauce was heavily flavored with fish sauce without much sweetness to balance it out. The sandwiches also used meats that were not flavorful. The fresh spring rolls were loaded with rice vermicelli, one thinly sliced shrimp and not much else.
In their favor, the premises were clean and the staff friendly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Inez777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anhtoan N, Manager at Kt Vietnamese Cafe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I know this response is late but, it is better than none.

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations of TripAdvisor's community reviews and it is nice to hear that you found our Vietnamese Cafe to be clean and the staff friendly. I wanted to address your complaints of the chicken we use in our BUN, meats in our sandwiches, and amount of shrimp in the fresh spring rolls.
The BUN that you got with chicken is not a processed chicken it is a grilled chicken. You can come in yoruself, anytime to check.
The meats that we use for our deli sandwiches are Boar's Head and Hormel brand. As for our Banh Mi sandwiches we grill chicken and pork, we also use steamed, pan-roasted or oven-roasted seasoned pork.
Each spring roll contains two peices of shrimp which is than cut in half and all placed in one spring roll. The amount of shrimp placed in the spring roll reflects an below average mark up for a restaurant especially, for the price that we charge. If you would like more shrimp next time please let us know but, we would have to charge extra for that!

We would like to invite you back for a free meal on the house to see if we can change your mind with our recently expanded menu. We have even added granite counter tops and table to our Vietnamese Cafe which, would hopefully look even nicer to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
358 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR LUNCH ESPECIALLY SPRING ROLLS”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

deli serves both deep-fried and uncooked spring rolls. the non-cooked shrimp rolls (2 for $3.50) with peanut sauce are fantastic...made with the freshest of ingredients.
also..try the pressed cubano sandwich ($5.83 with tax)...the best!
the place is a favorite of locals and it's easy to see why.
quick friendly service with a fairly good-sized menu.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Try the Vietnamese dishes!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This place is well known for its great sandwiches and there are a lot of reviews about those. But also the Vietnamese food here is fantastic, be sure to try it. I like BUN with grilled lemon grass chicken served over rice noodles. I also love the fresh spring rolls in rice paper made with shrimp, pork, rice noodles and cilantro, which you dip in peanut sauce. Absolutely delicious! Very friendly owners, too. You can eat in or take out and they deliver as well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coquinagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javaruke
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good sandwich”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stopped in for a Philly cheesesteak. Good meat with peppery seasoning, shrooms and onions good, roll was a bit airy compared to some I've had in the past. I prefer the bread a bit more dense but still tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“The Reviews are correct!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Visited today. Food was beyond what I anticipated.

This is not a 5 star type of fancy, three course restaurant.

But it is an absolutely awesome place to grab lunch. Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kt Vietnamese Cafe also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing