We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to buy meats”
Review of Herman Meats

Herman Meats
Ranked #97 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to buy meats”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good quality meat. It is not a restaurant, more of a grocery, but has homemade soup and desserts.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamlsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Butcher needs education in customer service.”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I purchased some pork chops and various other meats here and my chops were tough. I took my second package back to Joe the butcher and explained to him that they were tough. Instead of just exchanging them out, making me a happy customer, he implied that it couldn't be his meat, rather it was more likley user error. I have been grilling 90% of my meat for around 6 years. Joe......this was not user error. Instead of making me feel like a valued customer insuring my return visit, he insulted me. Thank you Joe. I will never walk into your establishment again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Randi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meat”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Wonderful spot to grab a hot dog or sausage to go. Lots of fixins to go with it too. The selection of meats can't be beat, you feel like you are in an old time butcher shop. Staff is very helpful.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziesmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
358 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE WITH GREAT SELECTION!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

find meats available no where else in the area...rabbit, duck breast. and, great selection of fresh chicken, chicken parts, pork chops, etc. etc.
make their own sauasage.
very helpful friendly service!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only the Best”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

When I need a cut of meat for a special holiday or occasion I know I can count on Hermans to make the meal my best. Of course it is also the place for everyday also

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herman Meats also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Herman Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing