We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Herman Meats

Herman Meats
Ranked #101 of 241 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Wonderful spot to grab a hot dog or sausage to go. Lots of fixins to go with it too. The selection of meats can't be beat, you feel like you are in an old time butcher shop. Staff is very helpful.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziesmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
358 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE WITH GREAT SELECTION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

find meats available no where else in the area...rabbit, duck breast. and, great selection of fresh chicken, chicken parts, pork chops, etc. etc.
make their own sauasage.
very helpful friendly service!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

When I need a cut of meat for a special holiday or occasion I know I can count on Hermans to make the meal my best. Of course it is also the place for everyday also

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Place for Meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is one of the best places in town to get anything from a homemade hotdog to prime rib.

The prices are a bit more expensive than the supermarket, but the quality is so much better. I went and picked up our Prime Rib on Friday for New Years and it was a great cut. Great marbling, nice amount of fat, and the butcher trimmed the top layer of fat off it for free. When it was cooked it was the best prime rib we have had in ages.

They also sell tons of sausages, from italian to polish, deli meats, chicken, pies, etc.

If you happen to go on sat they have a cookout where they grill for you.

This is definately what a meat market should be!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
135 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My New Meat Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The grapevine sent us here to buy edible meat which we have not been able to find in local supermarkets. What a find. We bought short ribs on the butchers' recommendation and they were very good. The staff is friendly and very helpful.I'll be back..

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herman Meats also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Herman Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing