We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife from Massachusetts”
Review of A Bit Of Boston

A Bit Of Boston
Ranked #50 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Whether you are missing home or in need of a seafood fix. Drop by this causal location that boosts of New England seafood and memorabilia. It is like dropping yourself up north to savor the flavors of the New England region. A Bit of Boston has become a favorite for New England vacationers, snow birds, transplants and locals alike. Treats like lobster rolls, sea scallops, clam cakes made with ingredients shipped in from Rhode Island are just a few. Their is hot dogs served on fresh New England style rolls and whole belly clams from none other than Ipswich. Just in case you are not in the mood for seafood, you are covered with favorites like Philly cheese-steak, meatball, Sausage & Pepper Hoagie's. There is a reason some travel as far as Ft Myers just to have a bowl of New England Clam Chowder. Stop by this local gem, you might just become a regular.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wife from Massachusetts”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited bit of Boston kind of a hole in the wall but blacked cod was very good, onion rings and fries were also good.going back again had a good time,fair prices,good food works every time for me

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    77
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to find, great seafood lunch/dinner”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I visited here on a recomendation from an in-law. We actually had tried two other times but had come when it was closed. Finally, we tried it and it was open! It was well worth the effort to find. We had a mixture of fried clams, fish, clam chowder, and scallops. EVERYTHING was great. My family is pretty picky on food and everyone loved what they had. Even the french fries were good.

The food came out nice and hot, service was very attenttive, and the portions were large. The one dish we probably wouldn't get again was the scallops. Not because they were bad but the fish and clams stood out much better. The atmosphere wasn't much, but who really cares. It has a nice New England decor + TVs. Also, this might sound silly but sometimes food quality in Florida isn't that great and no one in the family got sick or had upset stomachs. This makes it a forsure come back, great good + no upset bellys.

The one downside is if you are staying in the Venice Ave area, you need to drive out here. If this place was on the main street, it would easily beat out places like TJ Carney's and other places nearby. They need to find a way to move to the main Venice Ave!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gbmateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best clam chowda”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

a bit small but does a large take out business. looking forward to being back in the area ion feb. 2013

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I finally made it over to this adorable restaraunt after hearing about how awesome the food tastes. We were pleasantly surprised by how super friendly and very positive the entire staff was, and how the owner even came around to everyone's table to make sure their food was great. Then she'd dash back back to cook in the kitchen, only to return to make sure everything was fine. We ate their incredible onion straws made fresh daily, and we ate their catch of the day (haddock on linguinni). We look forward to returning with our friends so they can check it out too. A real Venice treat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparky093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and down to earth atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by friends from New England and had excellent food and service. The restaurant is basic but the staff are very helpful and keen to help. Our only negative is the early closing time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Bit Of Boston also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to A Bit Of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing