We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of A Bit Of Boston

A Bit Of Boston
Ranked #56 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Whether you are missing home or in need of a seafood fix. Drop by this causal location that boosts of New England seafood and memorabilia. It is like dropping yourself up north to savor the flavors of the New England region. A Bit of Boston has become a favorite for New England vacationers, snow birds, transplants and locals alike. Treats like lobster rolls, sea scallops, clam cakes made with ingredients shipped in from Rhode Island are just a few. Their is hot dogs served on fresh New England style rolls and whole belly clams from none other than Ipswich. Just in case you are not in the mood for seafood, you are covered with favorites like Philly cheese-steak, meatball, Sausage & Pepper Hoagie's. There is a reason some travel as far as Ft Myers just to have a bowl of New England Clam Chowder. Stop by this local gem, you might just become a regular.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I finally made it over to this adorable restaraunt after hearing about how awesome the food tastes. We were pleasantly surprised by how super friendly and very positive the entire staff was, and how the owner even came around to everyone's table to make sure their food was great. Then she'd dash back back to cook in the kitchen, only to return to make sure everything was fine. We ate their incredible onion straws made fresh daily, and we ate their catch of the day (haddock on linguinni). We look forward to returning with our friends so they can check it out too. A real Venice treat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparky093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    77
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and down to earth atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by friends from New England and had excellent food and service. The restaurant is basic but the staff are very helpful and keen to help. Our only negative is the early closing time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This food was absolutely the best I and family have had in anywhere in this area! Highly recommend! Chowda (amazing) soft shell crab (the way it should be), scallops (super clean, no sand). This restaurant is what it is all about....Check it out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgoodMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
380 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“A Big Improvement!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I last reviewed this restaurant in January of 2011. It was struggling at that time and I advised customers to avoid the place if the owner was not there and doing the cooking. We have been back twice in recent weeks, in neither case was Gigi on the premises, and it was VERY GOOD. A major improvement!...We are both from New England, summer in Maine, and I used to be in the fish business so we know good seafood. Several times a winter we need a fried clam and scallop "fix" and this is the place to go. Gigi used to work at Legal seafood in Boston so she and the place are authentic.They get their clams from Ipswich Shellfish, the same as most New England restaurants. I had the fried clam and scallop combo and Angela the clam roll. Both delicious and cooked perfectly. The clams were of medium size - it is impossible to fry a large clam well - and done perfectly. Service (John) was excellent and friendly.Prices are reasonable. My only fault is that their wines are just plain awful but they will allow you to bring in your own bottle and do not charge a corkage fee as many other places do.. This place has turned around. Two Gardner stars!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great down to earth place!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food was great, the people were great and the prices were great, what else is there... go and see for yourself!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Bit Of Boston also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to A Bit Of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing