We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise! Thai Food!”

The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill
Ranked #36 of 271 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Thai, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sand Trap was on our way home after a morning nature walk so we stopped in for lunch. We had planned on a sandwich but ended up with Thai food. We had chicken kra pow and chicken pad kee mow (drunken noodle) and both were delicious. The server was super quick, kept our iced teas refilled, and checked back often. The lunch prices were reasonable but an earlier visit showed dinner prices were a bit steep. With 10 TV screens, this is definitely a sports bar, but at lunch few were paying attention to them. Evenings might be a different story.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 88Tropicsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is good but expensive. An appetizer of four - yes, only FOUR - dumplings is $7. A pad Thai that doesn't even cover half the plate is $16. $2.50 for iced tea that isn't refilled when empty. Can't afford to eat here often but will be back for special occasions. The flavors are good and the service is quick.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank towanda1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We have been going there for years and have always had great dinners. Mostly Thai food. My husband likes it really hot. The service is great and all the staff are friendly.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Maserati777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Do you want Thai food? Or vegan? Or seafood? Or just good old American bar food? The Sand Trap has it all. I love the chicken dish, but the fish and chips looks delish too. My vegan friend loves all their vegetarian dishes. With so many choices, you would think they wouldn't do everything well, but they do. I also like that they double filter the drinking water so I can actually drink tap water there.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

We live in Venice and have been regulars here. The food is always good and service usually friendly. It's out of season now so there was no excuse for rudeness. Used to go once a week. Not going back due to rudeness from employees.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Meander733473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing