We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai and American Food”

The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill
Ranked #38 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Thai, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai and American Food”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This restaurant/sports bar is a great place to eat & enjoy yourself. It is operated by a husband/wife team (he's Irish, she's Thai). My wife & I enjoy the Thai food but everyone says the American style food is excellent also. We would highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    91
    26
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thai One On”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband has wanted to eat here for a year but I was reluctant due to the Sports Bar name and their location in the Publix shopping center. I was wrong. The food was delicious and very fresh. They offer an American and a Thai menu, both are loaded with interesting and healthy choices. The staff is friendly, fast and efficient. The interior is warm. I am looking forward to our next meal there and won't be waiting another year. Great value for the money.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good Thai food!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Good Thai food but also a choice of other fares for people who prefers "American" food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank acpetitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“This was actually about the 20th visit”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Finally finally finally a restaurant in town that is Amazing.. One great feature, both Thai and American food. Works great with the little one.. Actually one of the best grilled cheese sandwichs in town (french fries are great too)
But on to the Thai.. TO DIE FOR.. Made fresh to order.. we have never been disapointed in anything ordered off the menu. Green curry and lamb curry are my favs.
This restaurant is impeciably clean. The staff are friendly and fun. The owner Sue greets us with a hugs.
Only complaint... once the snowbirds arrive, can't get into the place until May.
We will definatly be going back..

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A big surprise”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was surprised when I went into this restaurant as I thought it was mainly a bar in a shopping strip mall. A friend told me they had excellent Thai food, so we went one night. The chicken platter I had was not over seasoned, as I asked, and piled high with fried rice, miso soup and small salad. My husband ate the shrimp and scallops which were done perfectly, not overcooked as some places are. Served with a cup of green tea it was a most enjoyable meal, and reasonable too. We will be returning soon!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorothyVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing