We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gelato, but not the best I've had”
Review of Ciao Gelato

Ciao Gelato
Ranked #2 of 15 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Serving Artisan Gelato/Sorbets, Coffee & Teas, Espresso, Latte & Cappuccino and Pastries.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good gelato, but not the best I've had”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went to this place on a blind date...Staff was friendly and attentive, and I had a combination of the sea salt caramel and chocolate. Very tasty, but Gelato Fiasco in Maine is better! Small store with limited (uncomfortable) seating--definitely a get your gelato and walk type of place. Good location right on the main strip in Venice so you can wander/window shop while you enjoy your treat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaylaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daria N, Owner at Ciao Gelato, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank You for your review on Tripadvisor. Our apologies for not exceeding your Gelato experience. We are a small establishment with very limited seating space and we strive to make our customers feel comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    104
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford Lakes, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Special treat”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Ciao had a fine selection of gelatos with tiny spoons to taste a sample before purchasing. The gelato was creamy and tasty. I would have liked to have purchased a 1/2 cup for less calories, however.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daria N, Owner at Ciao Gelato, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ciao Gelato on Tripadvisor. We value you as a customer and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
“Best Gelato I have had.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The best gelato I have ever had. They have a large selection, it is a very clean place, they work hard to make it a good experience. Friendly and pleasant. Would recommend it when you are in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daria N, Owner at Ciao Gelato, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to review Ciao Gelato on TripAdvisor! We strive to make every customers experience an enjoyable one by serving a quality product & providing good service. Team Ciao looks forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best gelato ever!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After a wonderful afternoon of touring venice which includedthe train depot and the magic shop, a stop for some gelato was exactly what we needed. We went with friends that are regular customers. The owner greeted us, and knew them by name, not something that happens very often these days....I did a few samples then decided on sea salt caramel and chocolate combo cup.....WOW!!!!!!! It was amazing. I was in Italy 2yrs ago and have not found any gelato that even comes close.....until now. Gelato beats american ice cream hands down, it is so creamy and the flavor was amazing. If you find yourself in Venice, this is a treat you must give yourself.
Thanks ladies, was a lovely end of day indulgence!!!! I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NFK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daria N, Owner at Ciao Gelato, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
WOW, your review of Ciao Gelato is greatly appreciated! We strive to create a "Customer for Life" experience and it appears we have once again succeeded. RJ & I look forward to your return visit. Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gelato!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Hands down best gelato!!! The amaretto is divine! RJ will even whip up a batch of your favorite upon request! THE place to go for the best gelato! Yum

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daria N, Owner at Ciao Gelato, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you Theresa for your review of Ciao Gelato. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Gelato also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ciao Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing