We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Florida Tropical Venue With Really Good Food And Service”
Review of Snook Haven

Snook Haven
Ranked #21 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Old Florida location offers scenic views of Florida's river wildlife and tree lines. Seated right on the Myakka River in a county park, Snook Haven is an old fish camp with a menu featuring a variety of smoked and barbequed meats. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Snook Haven offers a variety of entertainment from canoes, kayaks and river tours to live music for your ears pleasure.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Florida Tropical Venue With Really Good Food And Service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Excellent food and service in a rural Florida tropical setting on the Myaka River. Music was good. Unfortunately we along with a number of others had to go outside to avoid serious hearing harm. The music was too loud. This is not a problem unique to Snook Haven. Fortunately the outside seating was isolated from the inside but you could actually hear the music quite well. Yes we will go back it is a great place to eat but sit outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    245
    94
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A great visit!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four of us stopped by on a lazy Saturday afternoon. We had great seating by the Myakka River, and great service by Ms. Snook Haven! Two had burgers, one had salmon tacos, and I had the Sloppy Joe. All were served with homemade chips, and all were beautifully presented. But best of all, all were very tasty! Everyone was satisfied with their selections, and service was top notch! Thanks Ms. Snook Haven for a wonderful visit. We will definitely return to this place! And the entertainment (Gator Creek Band) was wonderful as well. Old rustic Florida along the Myakka River...what could be bettter than this??

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyinVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shrimp Po Boy worth the visit”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Old school rustic Florida spot. Very casual, off the beaten path feel. I had a shrimp po boy that was the best I have had. Everyone else had bbq that was good. My kids did not like their spin on home made mac n cheese. It is a cool spot on the river. We explored around the property and took great photos on the river. I would go back just for the shrimp po boy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Florida Seafood - The Original Way”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Growing up in Florida the best seafood was always find a hide-aways and fish camps, Snook Haven brought back all of those memories and the food, while serving traditional fare, has a contemporary take on classics like Fried Green Tomatoes, Fried Okra, an awesome Shrimp Po-Boy and surprisingly great BBQ including pork loin, Baby Back Ribs and chicken wings that are smoked and then fried. With a full selection of beers on tap this is a place I will revisit again and again and it's just off of I-75 near Venice. Oh Yeah and what a view!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“much better”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Since the new people took over the food is much better and the grounds are better cared for. hopefully they will not make too many changes and spoil the venue. going there tonight for dinner with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llrflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snook Haven also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Snook Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing