We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Surprise!!!”
Review of Snook Haven

Snook Haven
Ranked #21 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Old Florida location offers scenic views of Florida's river wildlife and tree lines. Seated right on the Myakka River in a county park, Snook Haven is an old fish camp with a menu featuring a variety of smoked and barbequed meats. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Snook Haven offers a variety of entertainment from canoes, kayaks and river tours to live music for your ears pleasure.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What A Surprise!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a hidden treasure down a long dirt road located on a river. There is a self-service area or you can dine in a screened in area or on the deck over looking the river. Happy Hour is after 4:00 & all day on Saturdays. Canned beer is $2.00 & a 20oz draft is the price of a 12oz draft which is under $4.00. We had a very nice salmon dinner which included two sides. We also had fried green tomatoes for an appetizer & shared a key lime tart. As far as drinks only wine & beer were offered. We each drank a 20oz beer & a half of another one. The server Ruthy made the day & aimed to please. The total bill before sales tax was only $41.10. A very unique place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    245
    94
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GreatBlues Fest!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mark your calendar for next years event on Memorial Day! Great bands, food and best of all, support for area Blues musicians. Thanks to Snook Haven for sponsoring! On the River, picturesque and friendly. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The new and improved Snook Haven!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went on out for the Snook Haven Blues Festival put on by Steve Arvey. First time I've been back in almost 15 years. This place rocks!! Besides the great Blues show, the restaurant and staff were absolutely fabulous. Food was great...smoked wings, ribs and chicken and collard greens! Just wonderful. The friendliest staff I've come across anywhere in eons!!! The Myakka River is the star of the show and the peace and good karma convey just right!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieMmm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't bring anyone with a walker or wheelchair on the weekends”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

After my 90 yr. old father expressed an interest in going, my husband and I pre-visited during lunch. We were pleased with the food and atmosphere. We packed up my father and his wife the next Saturday, went to turn down the dirt road and were stopped by a man, who proceeded to scream at me for asking why we couldn't drive down the public road to the restaurant. Although I was off of the highway, he screamed that there was no place to park (at the restaurant) and I was going to cause an accident. PARK THERE!! he pointed to a dirt lot screaming and TAKE THE TRAM!!!!. My father uses a walker and cannot step up onto a tram, let alone ride on a bench seat. Refusing him access is a violation of the ADA. If they want to represent themselves to paying LOCAL customers with a rude, nasty codger, who has no concern for anyone with special needs, then guess what? We are never going back. And, DON'T yell at Mamma, bad form.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeann0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“New Management”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This people is old Florida in the River-Alligators, Music, interesting characters, no frowns here you'll enjoy and smile until you jaw hurts, menu has been changed try the fried fish cooked just right good choice for a journey back in time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OspreyFloridaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snook Haven also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Snook Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing