We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Snook Haven

Snook Haven
Ranked #19 of 241 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Old Florida location offers scenic views of Florida's river wildlife and tree lines. Seated right on the Myakka River in a county park, Snook Haven is an old fish camp with a menu featuring a variety of smoked and barbequed meats. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Snook Haven offers a variety of entertainment from canoes, kayaks and river tours to live music for your ears pleasure.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went here with friends on a Thursday and they had a banjo group playing. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. After lunch we went on a boat ride. It was very relaxing but we didn't see much in the way of wildlife.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    244
    94
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great local spot with banjo music on Thursday afternoons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love this place since Sharky's took it over. Real, old-world charm with great ribs and chicken wings smoked on site. Southern specials include fried green tomatoes, shrimp po'boys, and frog legs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FQTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful old Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a beautiful setting of natural tranquility. No sooner had we sat down for lunch than a 15 foot gator slowly swam past. The trees are hanging with Spanish moss, the birds and squirrels a twittering and scurrying around. The river runs lazily past as you eat very tasty pub style fare. The only thing that would have made this better was is if the seating was bar height so you watch watch the river and wild life flow by. A lovely way to spend a tranquil afternoon.Service was excellent!g

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido Key, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Laid Back Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were looking for a laid back dining experience and that is exactly what we got. We dined on the outside deck overlooking the Myaka River--good atmosphere---as might expect flies were present and somewhat distracting this evening.
Were plesantly surprised by the food---we tried a shrimp po boy ( have never seen nice large shrimp used) sandwich at servers recommendation & a pulled pork dinner--both were very good with good flavor.
Place was full for dinner and we had some slowness with drink refills...but servers were very pleasant. Good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beach4meKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
397 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“What A Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had lunch yesterday at Snook haven. When we arrived the parking facilities were loaded with cars these were from people attending the concert of the Sarasota County Banjo Band. An outstanding aggregate of senior citizen musicians and singers who entertain strictly for tips. They had a crowd of about 200 people. We checked out the restaurant and decided to eat there after our tour on the Myaka River which was a lot of fun. Staff at Snook is very friendly and accommodating, the view and ambiance could not be better. We dined on the outside deck overlooking the Myaka River. Our selections were a Mahi Mahi Dinner Plate and a Sloppy Joe Sandwich. What we had was very good, not outstanding but very good. Prices were exceptionally reasonable. Food was served very quickly and we had a good time. Would we go again? Darn right we would. It is not only a staple for the tourist crowd but is favored by the local folks as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snook Haven also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Snook Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing