We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
Review of Snook Haven

Snook Haven
Ranked #22 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: This Old Florida location offers scenic views of Florida's river wildlife and tree lines. Seated right on the Myakka River in a county park, Snook Haven is an old fish camp with a menu featuring a variety of smoked and barbequed meats. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Snook Haven offers a variety of entertainment from canoes, kayaks and river tours to live music for your ears pleasure.
Sheffield, South Yorkhire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It took us a while to find this place, but it was certainly worth it! Off the beaten track and my rental car had the mud splashes to prove it, but its position on the river was beautiful. There was live music, the waiting staff were great and the food was fab - portion sizes were just right and the pulled pork was just yum. I wish we had gone back, done the boat trip and had lunch. I'd recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FayeMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    248
    95
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great spot.....we went on a thursday when the banjo players were there!!! fun fun fun and the food is great!! The owners of the "Sharkeys Pier" in venice also operate this place and you can see it all over, very well organized.
There is also a river tour right next to the restaurant and we saw 10 or so gators!! we are from seattle so it was pretty cool!

We will be going back.

Kevin

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 612kevinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Laid back restaurant on the river”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a great place to grab a bite to eat and watch some live entertainment (depending on when you go). We were here on a Sunday and it was packed with people mingling and relaxing, listening to some music and enjoying some drinks and food. You may even get lucky and see some gators on the shore.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, NY
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply delightful!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to Snook Haven twice this winter and had a great experience both times. It's a lot of fun to gather a group of people to sit at the picnic tables, enjoy some food, a drink or two while listening to live music. You can also dance if you want!
There is also a boat tour of the Myakka River that you can take (extra cost and you might have to book in advance).
It is being run by the people who manage (? Own) Sharky's at the Pier, also in Venice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tam753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Find !”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a must do if you're in the Venice Area. It is a darling little place nestled in the woods on the Mayaka River. It was recently taken over by the owners of the world famous Sharky's Restauraunt on Venice Pier which is a great place. They fixed the place up and did a great job. The atmosphere is pleasant and you can sit inside or outside along the river and watch boats pull up, kayaks go by and watch the fish jump. The food is awesome and the service was great. I had the pick two items and get two sides for $13.95. I chose the Beef Brisket and Baby Back Ribs on a recommendation from my Peg. The Brisket was TRULY AMAZING, MELTED IN YOUR MOUTH and TASTED DELICIOUS !!!!! The meat on the ribs fell off the bone and was awesome. There were many different sauces available at the table for the ribs but they were PERFECT just the way they came out. This is a great outdoors place with disposable plates and silverware so if you're looking for fancy and high prices this is NOT the place for you. But if you like GOOD FOOD, A GREAT SETTING, SUPER SERVICE and all at a reasonable price this is the place for you !!! You can also take a nice boat ride on the river and enjoy performers at different times of the year. The Banjo Players are awesome, especially Bill !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snook Haven also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Snook Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing