We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better, but some work to do!”
Review of Snook Haven

Snook Haven
Ranked #22 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: This Old Florida location offers scenic views of Florida's river wildlife and tree lines. Seated right on the Myakka River in a county park, Snook Haven is an old fish camp with a menu featuring a variety of smoked and barbequed meats. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Snook Haven offers a variety of entertainment from canoes, kayaks and river tours to live music for your ears pleasure.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Getting better, but some work to do!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went and had been there in the past. Some good changes, looks better, but the smell is sickening. Every once in a while a poof of air releases a sewer smell. Quite frankly, made us not even want order food.That is something that must be fixed ASAP! Also the music there can be really bad or ok. Sunday, Broken Arrow was there and they were very good. That is the type of band that should be there ,considering prices are not cheap. Allot of staff going around, saying the band is not paid by Snooks and we the customer must put money in the hat for them. News flash, the house pays the band, that is why the drinks are so high to pay them, Customers do not buy overpriced drinks and pay the band. A few people I spoke w/said the shrimp po boy and the pulled pork sandwiches were good. Honestly, with the sewage smell, had to move around to get away from it, and then there it was, back again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerseyshoresnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    248
    95
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
“Music”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went to Snook Haven Sunday afternoon at 1pm and was home by 2!!!! The band played all "Blues" and it was impossible to dance to.
I think they should go back to hiring bands people want to hear
and that they can dance to.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
418 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Give it some time”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went expecting good things about this place, but it did not live up to my expectations. Our group of four ladies who go out each month went here for Saturday lunch. We got there early and sat inside because it was cool. It soon became busy and noisy. If you eat outside, you place your order at a window. The service was excellent. The servers were friendly and did a great job since it was so busy. The menu is a little overpriced, and everything comes with their homemade chips. We did not like them. Two of the women ordered wine, which came in a small plastic cup. They were shocked to see it cost $5. There was no music when we were there. They are fairly new, and I'm sure it will improve. However, if I am going to spend that much, I would prefer a nicer place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Batmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This place is alot of fun!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited on a Saturday afternoon to hear the live music - 1-4PM. The place was crowded with people of every shape,size, and walk of life. Everyone was having a good time listening to the band, and enjoying the beer, wine and food. We sat outside at a picnic table on the Myakka River and watched people fishing and kayaking. We both had pulled pork sandwiches that were very flavorful and ample in size - served with good home-made chips and three kinds of sauce. Don't expect gourmet here but the food all looked good and the portions looked to be good size. Prices are reasonable and they "pass the hat" for the entertainment.. It appeared that they smoke the meat on premises and the menu is nice in variety with both BBQ and fish choices. Check the website for the schedule and go when a band is playing. Even though Snook Haven is about 25 miles from our home, we plan to return with our kayaks and spend the day on the river and enjoying the ambience of Old Florida at Snook Haven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“A fun piece of old Florida!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I wnet here with friends who live in the area. Down a long unpaved road one comes to this old fishing camp, full of people enjoying live music. What fun! We sat at picnic tables outdooras and ewnjoyed beer and some munchies - I liked the smoked fish dip. Didn't have an actual meal but the food looked good. The waterside location and the big old trees with Spanish moss lent to the funky old timey aura. I loved this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snook Haven also viewed

 

Been to Snook Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing