We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go frequently type of place”
Review of Robbi's Reef

Robbi's Reef
Ranked #17 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Robbi's Reef is a floridian-style restaurant that focuses on fresh, quality seafood and smoked in-house barbecue - a winning combination for the whole family to enjoy! Robbi's Reef is located in a beautiful, 175 seat restaurant overlooking a small body of water & beautiful fountain with large windows to maximize the view. With plenty of private parking, a full indoor & outdoor bar, a fresh seafood market, lots of large fish tanks to entertain, and plenty of photos of locals with their "big catch" to peruse, kids and adults will enjoy the casual, relaxed atmosphere and the wonderful food!
Nokomis, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must go frequently type of place”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The best fish tacos around. The atmosphere is friendly and always busy. You couldn't ask for better or fresher food especially the fish and seafood

Helpful?
1 Thank Madelyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    275
    115
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My last review of Robbi's Reef was in January of 2012. I gave it a rave review then and I have to give them a rave PLUS this time. We love fish! We live in Venice 10 months of the year and we chow down here every Tuesday night when we are in town..We spend two months in Maine during the summer and, frankly, Robbi's is better than 95% of the fish houses there. If you are looking for a steakhouse or a vegetarian meal go elsewhere!. My family has been in the fish business (boats and processing) in Gloucester, MA. since before the Civil War. I KNOW FISH! And it just doesn't get any better than Robbi's Reef...There are several grades of fish that restaurants buy. Most chains like Bonefish and Red Lobster buy B Grade because A Grade is so expensive and hard to come by. All of the fish at Robbi's is A Grade. If is is not available they just don't serve it!..Order anything on the menu or the daily specials YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!...THREE GARDNER STARS!...PS: Come late (after eight) or be prepared to wait. That speaks for itself!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eclectic decor; good food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place is a hole in the wall in a strip mall on the Venice 41 Bypass. You'll drive by if you don't know its there. It has one modest-sized dining room, about 22 4-tops, w/ a couple of 2s, plus a bar with 10? stools. Mostly 8x10 fishing photos all over the walls. The "reef" theme is carried out in the paint on the walls, an aquarium, and ceiling hangings - glass balls w/ nets, stained glass (?) pics of fish, etc. The look is eclectic, and fun. A modest 2 page menu, 1 page for apps, sandwiches, salads and misc, and 1 for entrees, and sides. all very reasonably priced. They usually have at least one "special", not on the menu (we had a choice of 3). Service is excellent. Food is an excellent value and very tasty. Wine is red or white...lol. This is not a fancy restaurant. But you will get a very good meal. They do not take reservations. In season there will be a line, but it usually goes pretty fast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb fish”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had our first visit last night, so sorry we have only just discovered this restaurant. My husband had fried catfish, I had the fish tacos (mahi mahi). Both served with rice and black beans. We shared a very generous very tasty Caesar salad to start. Both fish dishes were wonderful, simple really when you have the best fresh fish cooked with flair. We had draught Amberbocks and Yuengling. We ate at about 6.30 -each table was full, we had about a 15 min wait, and when we left there were still people coming in. Very buzzy atmosphere, staff were professional and gave every indication that they enjoyed their job and were proud of their restaurant.
Well done Robbie's Reef, you have two more fans today

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Great!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Not fancy yet a quaint stop. Located in a strip mall but don't let that sway you unless you have to have that "view". This is a local place where the food is the focus. The seafood gumbo is fabulous and loaded with shrimp. A large bowl is a meal! The fish tacos are the best we have ever had! We will return to sample more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbi's Reef also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Robbi's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing