We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Eddy Bistro Wine Dinners”
Review of Back Eddy Bistro - CLOSED

Back Eddy Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back Eddy Bistro Wine Dinners”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just experienced another Back Eddy wine tasting & culinary treat offered during Venice's "off peak season." Truly one of the many delights of being here during the summer/fall months. I can't say enough about the qualilty, careful pairing of wines with an inventive and delicious 5 course dinner at a resonable price.

The coordinated event is pulled off by the combined talents of the owners/chef, staff and winery distributor representative all while maintaining a fun atmosphere. How they manage to deliver this on two Wednesdays each month is a remarkable feat. I'm almost afraid to rave too much about it or I may find myself on a waitlist someday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lldinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    51
    25
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Dinner Deal In Venice”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We love the New Light Dinner menu that Back Eddy just started. Perfect for summer In Florida! We've been going to Back Eddy since it opened. Food is always excellent and fresh. Often I get two appetizers or appetizer and salad when I don't feel like a big meal. This summer they introduced a Light Dinner menu with smaller portion entrees and very affordable prices. My husband had the Pork Medalions and I had the Lemon Crusted Cod. Both outstanding and just enough on a hot summer night. (Comes with sides and fresh baked bread). Also, it's not publicized but if you sit at the bar at dinner time you can order their fabulous black angus burger with or without bleu cheese dressing. There are many vegetarian options as well. They also have two semi private dining areas in the back that can accomodate small groups if you're dining with a bunch of friends or having a party or meeting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived for lunch and were told we could sit anywhere. We opted to sit in the back room because the front area was apparently having a business lunch. When we walked in they were finishing their meal, and we decided it would quieter. We were seated immediately and soon were brought water and the waiter took our order. We waited well over 30 minutes to receive our lunch. When it did arrive it was barely warm. The fries were limp and not hot. The reuben sandwich had unusually thick slices of meat and with the coleslaw dripping it had to be eaten with a knife and fork. My meal was also very disappointing. When we were finished eating, instead of removing our plates the waiter was busy setting the tables in the front room, even though they walked by our table several times.
Unfortunately, this was a disappointing lunch and we have been looking forward to visiting this restaurant but we will probably not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sad222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

ordered cornbeef rebuen. bread was brunt & burnt, meat cold and though to eat, cheese was not melted and one thin slice. pile coleslaw on top of cornbeef. Figure that one out boys & girls; then they started to drag tables around while eating. sounded as if you were scratching your nails on a blackboard over and over and over again. I had to finally say something. Will not go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homemade Gourmet Experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First time at this bistro. Found this gem by accident while riding our bikes through downtown Venice. We spotted the tiki umbrellas and wanted to have a beverage outside. We were greeted by Joe and he preceeded to take our beverage order and served us quickly. We had asked about the food and he told us how fresh everthing was and made from scratch. We decided to make reservations for dinner. We were not disappointed with our gourmet meals; strip steak and mahi mahi special. Ashley our server was very attentive. We highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nmg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Eddy Bistro also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing