We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”
Review of Back Eddy Bistro - CLOSED

Back Eddy Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice menu but only fair execution. Service was sincere but lacking. Our waitress was pleasant but seemed harried even though there were only two tables occupied on the night we were there (off season).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flipper357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    51
    25
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Any negative reviews of service had to catch these folk on a bad day, provoke or want something free.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We started our day stopping in because of a hard rain. The owners
Were charming. The rain carried on for some time - dinner was evident. Not a lot
Of real chefs in Venice , here you will find one! Excellent dining experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BoatGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Fun Place to Meet in Venice”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am a local and just love Back Eddy Bistro. The food is not only eclectic, it is made from scratch, so fresh, and consistantly delicious! You cannot eat at the bar without hearing patrons raving about the food. Ally and Ed make it a fun place to meet friends- they're always offering a smile and a sample of Ed's latest creations. He was a private chef for many famous people and we are so lucky to have him here in Venice. I just can't say enough about this place! We bring all of our friends here who visit from out of town. Never have we been let down! Thanks Ally and Ed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank JVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel in Venice”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dinner for four during the off season was delightful. This restaurant has two rooms, a cozy bar and a more formal dinning room. We opted for the dinning room and were comfortably seated. The menu has a wide variety of choices including some unique starters and very well thought out main dishes. All of the veggies are fresh and prepared with care and are included with the dinner. For starters we had conch fritters ( home made and great), fried polenta with cheese and tomatoes, calamari and figs with Italian ham. All were we'll prepared and large portions. Next time we would get only two or three and share. The main dishes were equally well prepared with generous portions. We had terrific, fresh fish, a steak, duck breast and chicken. All was cooked to perfection. The wine list was very good and reasonably priced. We had no room for dessert. We would highly recommend this restaurant. Prices were reasonable, especially considering the portion size and quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jballl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlton Ny
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had the best meal of our vacation here. We brought our 1 yr old daughter so we thought it was polite to go early when the restaurant wasn't packed. They were very welcoming and accomodating to us. The menu was so exciting!
My husband had the crab cake appetizer and he said it was the best he ever had. I loved my entree so much I almost licked the plate. It was the pistachio crusted duck breast!
Our server, Gina, was fabulous! She was very attentive to our needs and was honest with her recommendations which we always appreciate.
The atmosphere is so warm and cozy and everyone was so friendly, we felt like we were home. Next time we are in Venice we will certainly go back to the Back Eddy.
We overheard some of the other patrons oooing and aahing too which told us that we weren't alone in our glory! definitly worth your time and money!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabrielle1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Eddy Bistro also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing