We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Venice”
Review of Back Eddy Bistro - CLOSED

Back Eddy Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Newport RI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best in Venice”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Finished our visit to Venice with dinner with good friends at the Back Eddy Bistro.
It was the best of the seven/eight places we dined at during our stay in the area.
Interesting menu, good wine selections, excellent service, and nice ambiance. I had lamb chops that were perfectly cooked, others at the table had similar good experience.
This is as close to fine dining as we found in Venice (not that we tried everything available).
The sidewalk tables under thatched umbrellas looked interesting to try another time. Very relaxing seating. The inside bar in a separate room looked inviting as well for a late meal or after dinner drink.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LocalObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    51
    25
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exactly what we enjoy about restaurants!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Good quality, innovative dishes, great service, good wine at affordable prices.........it's all good!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank haroldSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Ive eaten here several times and it is excellent every time...had the cob salad for lunch...ssoo good and huge...the Focaccia Bread was oh so tasty & our dog was able to sit with us outside & the owner brought a bowl of water & a treat. We will be back & I'll see you in September.. I highly recommend eating here..

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dar4725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A Very Good Experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We came to Venice for the Sarasota Folk festival and I had made reservations at this restaurant after reading about it on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed.

This was our first venture in that area and didn't know if the free public parking lots were available near the restaurant so we parked on the street about a block away when we saw an open space. We learned there is a lot directly across from the restaurant. I need to remember this.

Our waitress told us about the chef's history and credentials and he cooked us fine meals. The only thing that bothered me a bit was the white sheet of paper covering the white cloth on the table. When a party left, someone would come, take off the paper and crumple it, rather loudly, right there. Maybe it's a small thing but it took away from the ambiance, I think.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real find in Venice!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A local resident recommended this restaurant to us and we were not disappointed. We have been there twice for lunch and everything was delicious. The pulled pork sandwich with sweet potato fries was very tasty. Pork was very tender and the barbecue sauce did not overwhelm the dish. The cole slaw served with it is the best I've ever had.
The eggplant sandwich with the cilantro spread was also superb, and very different from the traditional "vegetarian" sandwich that other restaurants serve.
Service was very attentive and the atmosphere both inside and out is very relaxing.
I am looking forward to having dinner there before we head north.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pmk1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Eddy Bistro also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing