We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Venice
Post
Inbox
Search

“Venice Can Be Proud Of Bodrum!”
Review of Bodrum restaurant

Bodrum restaurant
Ranked #8 of 273 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $23
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Gaining a reputation for excellence in international dishes with Italian and French influences, the addition of Bodrum, a Turkish gem with a nice setting is worth a try.

This afternoon for lunch, we shared a Greek salad and the sampler mezze plate with flavors that bring Turkish, Greek and Mediterranean fare to this increasingly nice culinary community in Venice.

Today we both commented how much Venice is improving in restaurants since the 15 years we have lived here and Bodrum is at the top of that group already.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JTFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful evening at this newcomer, where good food and good vibes permeate a small but colorful indoor dining area. We were craving for some Eastern Mediterranean food and were not disappointed. The menu is relatively short but every dish ordered --seven in total-- was on the mark. The seasoning applied by owner-chef Ersen is subtle, enhancing rather than hiding the underlying meat/seafood/vegetable ingredients. Portions are mercifully "European-sized" and beautifully presented. Especially noteworthy: all vegetable-based appetizers which can be sampled in a "Sample Mezze Platter", the Bodrum Kofte Kebab and the catch of the day in a light white sauce spiked with capers and Kalamata olives. The wine list adequately complements the dishes . Weather permitting there is additional outdoor seating in a covered alleyway. Service is cheerful and chef Ersen did the rounds while wife Julia looked after guests. Bodrum was packed the evening we visited... glad we had reservations. Word has gotten out, obviously, and the kudos are well deserved. Can't wait to get back!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kaibab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

It's easy to miss this place, as it's set off Miami Avenue down an alley. You will be rewarded by venturing off the main street. The friendly owners are eager to please and share their food with you. The dining room is small, but comfortable. The service is cheerful and prompt. Although the menu is limited, everything is fresh, flavorful and prepared to order. The dishes are well prepared, served warm and promptly after preparation. Special requests are accommodated.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BBVeniceFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Bodrum's menu and atmosphere are delightful thanks to Chef Ersen and his wife Yuliya. The restaurant is decorated in the colors of Bodrum, a beautiful southwestern Aegean resort town in Turkey. My husband is Turkish and we lived in Turkey for several years, so we are very well acquainted with Turkish cuisine. It doesn't get any better than this. The mezze plate introduces you to several outstanding appetizers served with delicious pita bread. If you are an eggplant aficionado, do not pass up the Patlican Soslu. The kebaps, pilav, fish dishes are savory. Don't miss this little gem in the heart of downtown Venice!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Wonderful place full of character. You feel like you are in a little restaurant in Turkey. Service is so friendly and the food is quite exceptional. If you like Mediterranean type food you will love it here. The tables are set nicely with table cloths and gives the dining experience that added touch of class. A good variety for the wine list. We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank Lew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodrum restaurant also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bodrum restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing