We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Venice
Post
Inbox
Search

“You Will Be Thrilled You Stopped Here”
Review of Bodrum restaurant

Bodrum restaurant
Ranked #8 of 273 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $23
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Heart & soul is being put into this restaurant by the new owners. You are made to feel like a guest that is appreciated. The fresh vegetable presentations and the unique meat choices will quickly make this a city favorite. The mixed grill is a good choice to try a bit of the main meals. Lamb, kebobs and wonderful spice filled entrees. Had the spinach in phyllo to start and it was amazing. Pita bread is perfection. Ended with baklava to die for. Although not listed, they do have a decent selection of bottled beer. If you are going that route, don't be a wimp and order a Bud Lite or some such atrocious thing - try a beer from Istanbul. Good wine selection. Sounds as if they are working up a lunch menu, which is good as the dinner menu could get a little pricey for a noon bite. Get off the burger wagon and try this place. I travel the world and appreciate well prepared food - and this is it. Bonus points for relaxing decor. Check it out!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Bannatyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2017

Our meals was amazing and the owners are fantastic. The lamb and swordfish was just incredible. I found the sides refreshing and clean. The owners are very sweet and really enjoyed what they do and it shows.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank And_she_comment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

As a former Napa Valley chef and someone who literally eats out 7 days a week in Venice, saying that I'm bored with the food in this town is the understatement of the century.

But I stumbled into Bodrum Restaurant, tucked behind Burgundy Square Cafe, and still can't quite believe what I found.

Turkish food, if you're not familiar, is very similar to Greek food. Hummus, the Turkish equivalent of Tzatziki sauce, dolmas, pita bread, baba ganoush, and the like.

Just about everything I had in their appetizer sampler was as good or better than any I've had before.

The falafel was on point, and so was the tabouleh.

I came back two days later and had their entrees, and they were also in a totally different category than any other food in Venice.

The grilled swordfish filet was massive and the very best quality. I was expecting some rubbery, formerly-frozen disappointment. But no. I honestly haven't had fish as good in all of Venice.

This would have been a $40 entree just about anywhere else in the country, but $16.95 at Bodrum.

The mixed grill, featuring two types of kebab and lamb chops was also fantastic.

I haven't tried absolutely everything on the menu yet, but it's safe to say that it's the type of restaurant where you're going to get something good no matter what you order. That simply does not exist in Venice, except maybe at Darrell's. Ordering at other restaurants in town is like playing roulette with a loaded baked potato.

See what I did there? That's called comedy.

The young, Turkish couple that runs the place is simply charming.

The decor, which I rarely care about, is cute and tastefully done. The restaurant is tiny but not cramped at all.

I'm not a drinker, but they seemed to have a nice collection of wine and beer.

And...

My girlfriend and daughter loved the place as well. You know the food is good if an 11-year old is chowing down on Turkish food and loving it.

So I'm REALLY happy that Bodrum exists. It's a wonderful complement to the tiresome Italian and American fare on the rest of the island.

There's not a better restaurant in town if you want to have a fresh, new experience with really unique and authentic flavors.

(P.S. - It's also probably the most vegetarian-friendly restaurant in town, for those that have watched too many Netflix food documentaries).

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodrum restaurant also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bodrum restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing