We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ahhhhhhhhhh....the best of relaxation and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan House Vacation Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banyan House Vacation Rentals
Save
You added Banyan House Vacation Rentals to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Venice B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhhhhh....the best of relaxation and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

With all these good reviews, you hardly need another in order to make a decision of where to stay in Venice. Chuck and Susan are delightful hosts, offering all the special touches and remembrances. The grounds of the Banyan House are wonderful, complete with a private hot tub and the first swimming pool in Venice. We're told Thomas Edison stayed here. We had the room overlooking the street, with a little private porch and its own back entrance. Breakfasts are homemade and each different during our stay. Susan and Chuck offer warm hospitality, with local history, recommendations, and genuine kindness. During our stay, we met people from Germany, England and New York. They offer free use of bikes. It's one of those "no problem" kind of places, in every respect. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTeam4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Banyan House was indeed the best vacation spot we have ever experienced. We have been going back for seven years now and have always had a wonderful time there. There is always something to do...including the pool, hot tub, exercise room and the room where we played pool most evenings. The owners, Susan and Chuck couldn't be more accommodating and do everything possible to insure an enjoyable stay. It is a wonderful get away from the cold New Jersey winters.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Highly recommend the Banyan House! The Inn is beautiful, Susan and Chuck are great hosts, the grounds are spectacular and there is not a nicer place on the island! We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan77791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

our 8th stay @ the banyan house was as great as our 1st. sue & chuck make you feel @ home in this beautiful restored 1926 mansion. breakfast each morning is amazing, the gardens & pool are a bit of paradise. can not wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is our second trip to the Banyan B&B on the island in Venice, FL. Proprietors Susan and Chuck see to your every need to make your stay a pleasant one. Unbelievable breakfasts challenge your palate each AM at 9. Beach cruiser bikes await you as you circumnavigate all the ins and outs of the island. A pool and hot tub are ready when you wish to relax. As other reviewers have noted, the inn is filled with antiques and curios to calm your senses.

There really aren't any comparable places to stay - the Inn at the Beach is a motel but is cheaper (but not much) if you prefer that. I recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahoe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I wish to say at the outset that I had reservations to stay at the Banyan House but cancelled them after a couple of difficulties regarding my reservation. I am writing this review to share my experience that the innkeepers seem to consider changing a reservation's terms proper.

Susan was very friendly and patient when I called in August to make a reservation. I also had a good feeling about the inn, which the local chamber of commerce had recommended.

I was concerned when my prompt confirmation did not include my rate. On inquiring about this, Susan informed me that the 2012 rates may increase but that she did not expect any increase to be significant.

Susan does get points for sensing my unhappiness with facing a higher rate than the one that existed when I made my reservation and for agreeing to not apply any increase to my stay. However, I did not think that changing any rate after a reservation was made was proper.

I even explained to Susan that I always book my "winter thaw out" trip in August because I know that B&Bs book up early during their busy times. I added that a few places that I have stayed had also told me that their rates increased in the period between making my reservation and my actual stay but never even asked me to pay the higher amount.

I was pleasantly surprised to receive a Christmas card from the Banyan House but unpleasantly surprised to see that the enclosed letter was primarily about adverse changes that were understandably due to economic challenges that the innkeepers were facing.

The only change that really bothered me was a notice that the inn was charging a four-percent fee for using a credit card. This was a significant change to my reservation.

The more minor changes included no longer providing a newspaper or telephone service.

I initially decided that I would not raise a fuss because I had already made an issue of the potential rate increase. I also decided that I would just pay cash.

After a particularly expensive January, and calculating the cash expenses that I would incur on the trip, I determined that having to pay the inn nearly $800 in cash would be burdensome.

Susan did kindly allow me to cancel my reservation. I was a bit put out that Chuck's polite response to my feedback regarding the change and the fact that it was in a Christmas card seemed to ignore that my issue was having a pre-existing reservation, rather than a policy change, and that Susan did not have time to send both a Christmas card and a second mailing that explained the austerity measures.

I suspect strongly that the inn does have an email mailing list of past and future guests and could have sent the notice of the cutbacks in an email.

I doubt that I will ever stay there out of concern that the terms of my stay will change materially before I arrive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MAtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Chuck and Susan welcome us like friends, take us to our favorite room in their antique-filled historic house, and prepare the most exquisite breakfasts in the sunny patio room where we meet other friends of theirs each morning over coffee and the daily surprise menu. There is never any rush. They are welcoming and accommodating to every need, and readily provide information on local restaurants and places to visit. The pool is clean and warm, each room has a mini-fridge and toiletries, fresh towels daily and robes for evening. We have already been back twice and plan many future visits.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
1.9 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#7 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan House Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan House Vacation Rentals

Property: Banyan House Vacation Rentals
Address: 519 Harbor Dr S, Venice, FL 34285-2812
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1926 European Style home with rooms & suites with one week minimum and monthly apartments. Heated pool & spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banyan House Historic b&b
Banyan House Historic Hotel Venice
Banyan House Vacation Rentals Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing