We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but not a 5 star hotel”
Review of Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Beach
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed one night at this nice motel, conveniently located across the street from Venice Beach. The room was nice and clean. Personally, I wasn't crazy about the shutters in our first floor location. If you opened them, you compromised privacy and if you closed them, you shut out all of the nice sunshine. The AC was located in a rather inconvenient spot, where it blasted cold air at you, as you stood near the kitchenette area. The furnishings were nice and tropical theme-based, but certainly not on par with my expectations of a 5-star location, based on other reviews here. It was nice to have the mini-fridge and the microwave, along with a couple of free bottles of water and popcorn. The continental breakfast was good. The pool was fairly small - as I said, especially if you are expecting a 5-star pool - but it was large enough for families with children. There was also a small hot tub. The proximity to the beach is definitely a great selling point and worth a bit extra. All in all, it's a nice place to stay, but I would say that the stars range between 3 1/2 and 4, not 5.

Room Tip: First floor rooms could have parking spaces directly in front of them - a nice perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent two nights in the hotel last week. It's in a terrific spot right across the street from the beach and on Venice Ave which is the main street where all the restaurants are in Venice. The staff couldn't be better. Very friendly, great on recommendations for restaurants and even the right direction to take on the bike path in town. They offered up their sharks teeth collecting devices for me and my daughter without me having to ask. The room was nice with a kitchen and full size fridge and there was plenty of closet space. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the gulf upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncleputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A very nice old school hotel. Great location very close to restaurants and to beach. Great and very nice staff. Very clean. Only issue the window A/C units seem to shut off and on a little to much. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

That was the first time we stayed at the Inn at the Beach and this was an excellent experience from the time we called to book our reservation to the last day when we left. I do not think you can find another hotel in Venice that is so close to the beach. The service was remarquable, the continental breakfast offered a wide selection and our bedroom was taken care of every day. The swimming pool was nice and clean and the location was at a walking distance from the downtown area where you can several good restaurents and ice cream shops. I am sure we will return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at the Beach last year and were so impressed with the location, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff we stayed here again this year. The rooms and grounds were immaculate. The staff is friendly and we appreciated the use of the free beach chairs and beach umbrella. The beach is directly across the road. The shopping and dining is within walking or biking distance. The staff will give suggestions on local places to eat and visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First time visitors. First time in Venice Beach. Called Hotel directly, received amazing rate and excellent room with a view to the street and the beach. Rooms, bright, clean and modern. Lots of windows in the room. Cute breakfast (enough to start the day), and nice clean swimming pool. After dinner on the gulf, we walked the beach watched the sun set. Nice to enjoy a mid size hotel friendly staff (needed extra pillows etc) maid delivered to our room within 5 minutes. Great value to enjoy Venice Beach and the downtown strip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a few nights. The people at the front desk were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were well decorated, modern and very clean. We were provided with clean beach towels when we needed them. Their breakfast includes pastries, cereal, muffins (which are amazing!) and juices. Bottled water is also provided. Maid service was great. We had no complaints about this place. We wish it was beach front, but for the price, its location is perfect. We were there in the off season but the beaches had hardly anybody on them. There were even times when we were the ONLY ones there! Our only complaint was that there weren't many restaurants in the area, but that isn't the hotel's fault, obviously. We are VERY happy an hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdhollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
1.4 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key
11.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Beach

Address: 725 West Venice Avenue, Venice, FL 34285-2053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#1 Family Hotel in Venice
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
#6 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $127 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service is what you can expect from the Inn at the Beach. As the premier beachside destination in Venice, this lovely resort is devoted to a relaxed, tropical lifestyle… and the dedicated staff at the Inn at the Beach can help you enjoy every moment of it. Start each morning with a continental breakfast served in the lobby and a complimentary newspaper. Stretch out and enjoy the tropical landscaping that surrounds the heated pool and Jacuzzi, or take a leisurely stroll along Venice Beach. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING, AWAY FROM IT ALL The Inn at the Beach is an elegant, boutique-style hotel nestled park-side and just steps from the sparkling blue water of the Gulf of Mexico. The Inn is the perfect place for a relaxing beach getaway. Venice beach, known as the shark tooth capital of the world, is a spectacular place to enjoy shelling or simply sit back and unwind in the tropical sun while enjoying the balmy breezes. The Inn is located within walking distance of historic downtown Venice, a lovely place to shop, dine or enjoy a show. Play a round of golf at one of the local championship courses or try tennis, fishing or boating – all are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Beach Hotel Venice
Hotel At The Beach
At The Beach Venice
Inn At The Beach Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing