We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not only for Breakfast”

Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #3 of 15 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not only for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went in here for breakfast on arrival for our vacation. Everything is fresh and the menu is large and varied. Took the scones for a snack later. Blueberry scones are sold as soon as they are out of the oven, they are that good. Also went back to lunch which was just as good. Would highly recommend this restaurant for great food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rnrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    97
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Brunch, Or Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Being a Florida resident, I tend to avoid busy places such as downtown Venice during season, but yesterday I made an exception! I was spending the day with my best friend who suggested Upper Crust for lunch. I had been to their bakery "section" many times but had never eaten in. We were able to get a table right away which was surprising considering it was 11:00 AM on a Saturday. My friend ordered tea and a wrap sandwich which she really enjoyed. I ordered the Quiche Lorraine, which came with a delicious warm crossaint and a side salad. The prices were a little high, my meal was $11. But the quiche is homemade and was a pretty good sized piece. The restaurant itself is absolutely charming. It's small but the tables are spread out so you don't feel like you're shoved into a table. It's decorated very simple and shabby chic. It's the perfect place for a nice weekend morning meal or to catch up with your girlfriends. The service was also very good. I will be back again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had breakfast here several times and every time it was great. All the pastry was baked fresh and in house. The service was very good but you have to wait your turn on the weekends. There was always a line to be seated but it was worth the wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renato7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
316 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

it is pricey even for the area. The scones are good, but for what you pay they should be even better. You can get a better breakfast other place cheaper.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 98999Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful scones/Great Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

While visiting friends in Nokomis/Venice and with our husbands playing golf, my friend and I decided to walk around the "trendy" area of downtown Venice and then stop in and try Upper Crust, well known for their scones. We had our coffee and scones at the outdoor area (right on the sidewalk) and it was a most enjoyable experience. The apricot scones were delicious and even more so with a side of the clotted cream. The coffee was very good as well. We were told by our waitress that in order to choose from a larger variety of scones, we neyeded to come earlier in the morning as the scones disappear quickly. Service was attentive and we weren't rushed.

Two days later we went back with our husbands for breakfast and first made sure to pick out the scones we wanted to take home with us. Breakfast inside this lovely restaurant was quite good. One critique I had, but didn't mention to the waitress, was that the thick-sliced French toast that was supposed to be dipped in a cinnamon egg batter didn't have any cinnamon so was kind of bland, but the sugar-free syrup helped. What was really nice was when our very friendly waitress apologized to my husband when his side order of home fries didn't arrive with his omelet and she wasn't going to charge us for it - very nice considering it wasn't a big deal. The other dishes of omelets, pancakes, etc. were very good. Best bacon ever.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank potterygirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing