We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mason Jar

Mason Jar
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Umatilla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

By appearance alone, you would expect the most perfect comfort foods to be served. The fried chicken is very good but the side dishes are below average. Mashed potatoes taste instant, green beans taste canned with a little ham hock thrown in. The biscuits taste frozen. I was excited to visit this place but left somewhat disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NextBigAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    56
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very cute restaurant. Southern cooking. Large meal portions. Husband had liver and onions and I had hamburger steak. Others had the fried chicken, with each meal you get your choice of three side dishes. Everyone said that their meals were very good except a few said the liver was too thick but other than that was very good. Also served with cornbread muffins which were very good. Very inexpensive meals. On the chalk board they have the specials of the day. And there was a lot to choose from. Water was served in mason jars. Waitress we had very good kept checking on us to see if everything was ok and if we needed any refills on our drinks. They do not serve beer or wine here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had breadfast at the Mason Jar. It was the weekend and there was a small short wait. It is decent country cooking but nothing that made us want to come back. Restaurant is old and needs a lift.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dkexperience27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My family loves the Mason Jar Restaurant. The food is down home country cooking and it's at the top of it's game. Go for the all you can eat fried chicken on Sundays, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunnybeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The decor is rustic and suites the southern style cooking. We went in for lunch...burgers were good, but the fries were ick. I'd go back to try breakfast or dinner though. I hear their fried chicken is very good.

Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason Jar also viewed

Umatilla, Lake County
Umatilla, Lake County
 

Been to Mason Jar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing