We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ricks Tiki Bar...great find.”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I'm not sure what the bad review for Ricks was all about, because I never ever had a problem with the place or the staff. It's a bar in front of a pool, on the beach with a killer view. The drinks are very reasonable, and at times there is live entertainment. The girls that work there are very cordial, and very attentive. (for a beach bar, that is saying quite a bit) Rick is usually there and is always friendly and waiting to make you a colorful frozen drink, or serve you a cold beer when you come off the beach. Is there suppose to be more??? and why are we nitpicking while on vacation anyway?? If you are in a bad mood, hate the world for the day, nothing can change that! Even if you got all your drinks for free....

The Island Inn has been around for a long time and although it is not five star, it is more than good and with the views and pricing you cannot go wrong. Stop in and check it out, and make sure you have a cold one at Ricks............................................you will be back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
9  Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a wonderful Inn! My sister had a wedding here last week. The people at the Hotel were kind, considerate, and helpful in every way in helping to arrange the event. The rooms are large and spacious. We could not have asked for better service or a better experience. I recommend the Island Inn Beach Resort completely to anyone visiting Treasure Island! - Lee Anne

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lasavoiamchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'm not gonna say it's a perfect place, or 4 stars, but the feeling you get when you walk away sure is. 1st, the staff is great. They are laid back and not in your face. The amenities were fine. They offer free kayaks, and again, the staff is helpful to get you to going. The grills on the property ar\e kept up, and clean, and the guys handling all that are excellent at making sure the visitors are satisfied with all they ask for. 2nd, I left a jacket and shirt in my room after checking out. They called within twenty minutes of leaving; apparently it was actually three people trying to get us to tell us about the shirt and jacket. They quickly got it in a box and sent it off, and when I got it, the headphones were still in my pockets. They are fair, kind, trustworthy, and decent. You can find a bit cleaner, more posh places, but you won't get the decency of staff at most other places. This place was peaceful, and private. the beach was also clean, and again, lots of privacy. Thank you Island INN!!

Room Tip: ask for a high level beach side room for the best views of the gulf and property - just gorgeous.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZigRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I wanted to write this review because of the negative ones I saw... because OUR stay was absolutely WONDERFUL! My husband & I did a little tour of 3 places in FL, and this was my favorite hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, longer than we planned, b/c we enjoyed it so much. I was very impressed with the very friendly front desk staff, who always heard us coming even before we had a chance to ring the bell on the counter. They provided towels and even coffee in their little lounge area in the front. Not to mention you can use for free their kayaks, which we enjoyed immensely each day.They have a nice pool area, grills, volleyball nets, and small tiki bar (which we didn't use).

And then there was our ROOM! We asked to see the room first, since we had a bad experience at a different hotel. When we saw it we were completely impressed, booking it immediately. We had a king size bed room with kitchen area (210), totally clean, beautifully decorated, & completely furnished - great modern furniture, perfect showers, comfy bed, a kitchen area with fridge, microwave, toaster, cupboards, and all the utensils, dishes, and pots & pans you could need!!!! We also had a great view of the beach outside the sliding doors. WE LOVED IT! To top it off, we found out beforehand online about the July discount they were having on these rooms, and got this $160 room for $100 each night. We'd go back in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: Go for the privately owned ones, from what I hear. We had room 210, and it was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCmom2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

AVOID this location. Their staff lied to us about discounts available and then overcharged us. They are completely dishonest.

Any time we asked to speak with a manager, the desk clerk was rude to us. When we asked about the use of their amenities, the desk clerk was rude to us. In fact, any time we had a questions at all, the desk clerk was rude to us.

To boot, no manager ever contacted us. I can only assume they were on vacation at a nicer hotel.

BEWARE.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TampaTraveller_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A real Tiki bar has a polynesian theme ,,, this is far from it !!!!! If you want to have a drink you must buy from the over priced bar,, they will kick you out of the pool area if you bring your own in ,,, this means water and soda as well,,, the pool is for regestered guests ,, but not here because of the bar tender he will make sure he gets his cut from the outsiders,,,, don't go ,,,,,,,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The location is great! It is within walking distance of bars and restaurants in the area. The hotel offers a bar, kayak rentals, paddle board rentals, grills, volleyball and more. The lobby was clean and staff was friendly. The room we had Was clean but required updating. The mattress was hard as a rock...I should have slept on the floor.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank uhoh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
486 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-3296
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $120 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing