We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great deal on the a huge beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
MN
1 review
“great deal on the a huge beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

It was a nice clean hotel on the beach. The parking was a bit tight and but okay. Staff very nice and helpful! Would stay there again

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank msteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    432
    152
    62
    68
See reviews for
662
417
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wayne nj 07470
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The rooms were neat and clean,we had a poolside view.The pool was well maintained.The outside tiki bar was a lot of fun and the outside entertainment was great.The beach was directly behind the hotel and everyday we had a great view of the sunset.The breakfast was reasonably priced but the portions could have been bigger.The staff at the front desk were all very polite and very helpful especially Barbara who made it seem like we had been there before even though this was our first visit.All and all i would absolutely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach shores, fl.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We arrived as part of a group of old friends attending a local wedding. Barbara checked us in and I immediately felt at home. We had a poolside room which was comfortable,clean, and had a well stocked little kitchen.
Another delight was our housekeeper, Latonya. My huand wasn't feeling his best this trip, so when we needed her not to come in, she sweetly gave what ever we needed. If we needed anything at all, she took care when it was convenient for him. She did her job with care, professionalism, and with a twinkle in her eye. Ask for Latonya,s side of the hotel if you want the ground floor, and you'll be entertained and happy.
Breakfast outdoors every morning was a great setting to meet our friends and discuss the day's activities.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank larry063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have been going to the Thunderbird since I was 3 years old. I just stayed there for a few days on my honeymoon before driving only 1 hour to Walt Disney World. The pool and beach were great! Very relaxing. Rooms were clean but nothing fancy. My one negative is that the beds are pretty hard. Quite uncomfortable. The AC is GREAT!! Totally controlled by you and works really well. Not humid or anything like a lot of hotels. Wonderful in FL for 90+degree days! Rooms right on the beach seem better than facing the pool as it can be loud, plus your window is facing the pool. Great value!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leh1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stumbled across this motel when we took a few days out from Orlando and were looking to stay on the gulf coast. The rooms are spotless, if a little dark, and all either face the pool/garden or St. Petes beach. There is a restaurant on site and a couple of eateries within walking distance, you have to make your own entertainment evening time as everybody appears to retire early and there was'nt anything happening around the motel, having said that, it is great value for money in a fab location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

The pool and tiki bar are the best. Vlad at the bar makes the best drinks in Florida. Excellent front desk staff. Always very friendly. Wish they would have entertainment every day. Basic rooms, nothing special. Go for the beach front rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKLYN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

When unexpected air conditioning issues caused me to look for cooler surroundings (can't go without AC in FL), a friend recommended the Thunderbird Beach Resort. When I called about the reservations and the reason, the management staff (Sue took my call)was very helpful in accomodating me and my family at the last minute on a summer FL weekend. Upon my arrival my family and I were shown to a set of adjoining rooms, allowing my 3 kids to have their own room and a great experience. When we looked to go get something for dinner, the staff (Barbara I believe was her name) again came through and made a recommendation of a local restaurant where the food was great and they had a great kids selection. I have recommended the Thunderbird since then to my friends as a great stay-cation destination.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomax89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing