We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
new york
1 review
“great family place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Very clean and conveniently located on Treasure Island. Staff was very courteous and acommodating.
TVs in room could use updating . And if you need to work on your vacation- no internet in rooms.
For the money, a good deal. All in all I give it a thumbs up.

  • Liked — beach, pool and spa
  • Disliked — rooms could use updating
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardinelopez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    431
    152
    62
    68
See reviews for
660
417
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We spent seven days at the Sea Castles Suites and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The room was clean and the hotel in general was maintained daily by the staff. The walkways were swept and garbage bins emptied daily if not more times a day. We had the gulf view room and the view was breathtaking...especially the sunsets. The kitchenette was well stocked for cooking essentials, although only two burners worked on the stove. Bring a kettle if you want to make tea, we boiled water in a pot but it didn't bother us at all. (This is not a complaint.) We even enjoyed the live music next door from the Thunderbird. The music stopped at a reasonable hour in the evening and was heard only on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. It created a great background to the beach scene. Our child loved the beach, the heated pool at the Thunderbird and a park close by. Sea Castle residents can use the Thunderbird amenities which is next door and quite convenient. We picked up our beach towels from the front desk (Sea Castles) and walked less than a minute to the pool next door.

Overall, this is a great family vacation place. There were kids everywhere. Everything was orderly and respectful. The beach is vast and there are many shells to find, great for walking along the shore. We even saw some dolphins swim by. There weren't any loud motorboats or jet skis to disturb the patrons. It's quiet and very restful. Definitely recommended by us.

  • Liked — The view of the gulf from the bedroom window.
  • Disliked — Nothing, no complaints!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank basnik71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

I was very happy with Thunderbird. We stopped at four places before them. There prices were the best and the staff was very friendly. We will be staying there next time we go to Florida. I would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Liked — On The Beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogsrule21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubbaguy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

This Hotel has the best staff ever... Everyone is so friendly. The best staff I have ever had. The rooms are great nice and clean. We had a ocean view with balcony. Comes with fridge microwave, coffee maker.... Just a wonderful Stay.. Also the greatest security...Will go again and again..------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Liked — The service and the clean rooms with wonderful ocean view
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank invgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

GEE WIZZ what an amazing experience. We walked in late one night looking for a place to stay and this was the perfect fit. BARBARA at the front desk was seriously the nicest woman ever. and LOU the bartender is reeeeally good at making a pina colada! Okay now the room right on the beach the sand literally at your feet we were on the 1st floor room 47 i think what an amazing view. The boardwalk was right there with plenty of other restaurant to stop in to. There was a pool a bar a cafe and everything you would ever need to forget about your "real life" for a couple days. 5 stars in my book We will be back!!!

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cbd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

After researching on Trip Advisor and reading the great reviews of this hotel, we decided to book. We definitely were not disappointed. From the initial call to make our reservations to checkout, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially Linda at the front desk. The rooms were very clean and kitchenette well equipped. The beach is fabulous with soft white sand and is extremely wide. You could walk for miles. The hotel is also very well located and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends!

  • Liked — The view as we had an oceanfront room.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hola!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

The people working at this motel are very friendly and helpful, everyone from the front desk to the maintenance crew. The room was comfortable and clean, but did have a slight mildew smell.
We would stay here again.

  • Liked — location to beach, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — mildew smell in room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeovilleBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing