We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time at Sea Castle Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Amazing Time at Sea Castle Suites”
Reviewed December 8, 2008

After researching on Trip Advisor and reading the great reviews of this hotel, we decided to book. We definitely were not disappointed. From the initial call to make our reservations to checkout, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially Linda at the front desk. The rooms were very clean and kitchenette well equipped. The beach is fabulous with soft white sand and is extremely wide. You could walk for miles. The hotel is also very well located and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends!

  • Liked — The view as we had an oceanfront room.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hola!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    450
    157
    66
    71
See reviews for
680
427
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romeoville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

The people working at this motel are very friendly and helpful, everyone from the front desk to the maintenance crew. The room was comfortable and clean, but did have a slight mildew smell.
We would stay here again.

  • Liked — location to beach, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — mildew smell in room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeovilleBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We stayed at the Thunderbird for 9 nights with 4 adults and 2 children (4 and 2) in 2 interconnecting Gulf Front rooms iwht a kitchen. Having selected the hotel based on reviews on this site, it did not disappoint!

So, first the good things:
Firstly, the view from the Gulf Front Rooms is phenomenal. It is hard to imagine anything better.
Secondly, the location of the hotel is magnificent. It is really on the beach, and most likely one of the best beaches in the US. It's perfect for children, gently sloping with hardly any waves.
Thirdly, a special mention has to go to the breakfast in Groupers and staff. Breakfast is freshly prepared, quickly served and always spot on.
Finally, the hotel is kept really clean. The pool was cleaned every morning, and house kepers do a thorough job.

Now for the areas for improvement:
Firstly, at arrival, the build-in wardrobe door was unhinged and did not open. The fault was fixed quickly enough, but should be spotted by the cleaning staff.
Secondly, the phone kept flashing with a red light throughout our stay. I mentioned it twice to the staff without result, so I unplugged it in the end.
Thirdly, We twice were supplied with 3 towels, whilst having 4 people on the room. Mitigating circmstance might have been that the hotel as packed on those days...
Finally, the bathrooms are getting a bit tatty, with mouldy bits around the bath tub. A bit if an update would do no harm.

All in all, I would defintely return to this very special place.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mvanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

A really friendly place - informal but very well kept and excellent service. From front desk to pool cleaner; from bar tender to room cleaner , you could not be made more welcome and cared for. The gulf facing rooms open onto an outstanding beach. The sunsets are magical. Restaurants are nearby and the local Publix is close too -very useful as we had an efficiency which had a great little kitchen attached. Barbara, at front desk , coped with our British accents - we have booked for next Novemer already ! R & J

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank theretiredbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed at the Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Oct-Nov 2008. A rather lengthy stay of 24 nights. It became like home because I received such a warm welcome and found all the staff very friendly.

Janet was in charge of reception during the day and Barbara in the evening. They couldn't have been more helpful when I needed anything. Jesse did the late shift when Barbara was on her evenings off. He was cheery and helpful too.

The hotel is situated on the beach and has stunning views, a lovely pool and jacuzzi. I loved the fact that the beach was huge and therefore quiet even on the weekends, no crowds competing for space. More sea birds than people in fact.... fabulous.

I really took to Treasure Island and the Thunderbird... I plan to go back soon.

Anne

  • Liked — Sea view
  • Disliked — It was good
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank albannachspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cle Elum, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We got a walk in rate of $95 for a gulf front room with an unbeatable view with balcony. We also got two free welcome cocktails. The room was very clean with a postage stamp kitchen that still managed to be a real kitchen with a real oven. The pool is set in a Key West type venue and the tiki bar is inches away with a daily drink special. Very nice pool. The front desk was extremely courteous and steered me to the inhouse grill for a delicious lunch. The location is great with a Walgreens across the street and Ricky T with all you can eat fish on Tuesdays. Try the Hut at John's Pass boardwalk ! Saw several families really enjoying themselves.

  • Liked — location, value, courtesy
  • Disliked — needs more ice machines, difficult for disabled
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lakecleelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I spent months planning my family's 1st trip to the Gulf of Mexico and finally made a decision to rent a house "on" the beach. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a broken air condition unit, roaches, a long walk to the beach and fire ants. Deciding not to stay even one night, we called the Thunderbird and Barbara went into action and found us a gulf front room. We could not have asked for a more perfect place. The horse-shoe shaped courtyard is a perfect way to display the large pool that is surrounded by lush Florida greenery. On your way to the beach, you'll pass a tiki bar where live music played nightly. There isn't a bad view in the place. The hotel is very family friendly. Staff is wonderful. A diamond in the rough. The Thunderbird is the only place we will stay; no need to look anywhere else. Thank you, thank you, thank you Barbara. (from the "cheese heads")

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlspjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing