We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 week vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed August 7, 2014

4yr staying at Thunderbird resort. This stay started off a disaster having to change rooms 3 times.. We were getting a little aggravated...the cleaning crew especially Janice, Chantelle, and Edra really did their best in helping with the rooms. They were so pleasant during our problem with rooms..Then the general manager and manager helped us out and and made rest of our stay as pleasant as our previous 3 yrs. there is no doubt we will be back next year..Front desk people a very awesome too

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ymona34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days with the whole family. There was 20 of us. My 4 immediate members had a suite on the 3rd floor and it was spacious and clean. The pool,tiki bar and restaurants were added bonuses. Hotel is oceanfront and the prices were great. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

For a older hotel this is a great hotel that has been renovated and is on the beach , Dave king , Susan and missy thank you for the great stay and the tips on where to eat Derek P Staten Island N.Y I will visit here again

Room Tip: Good place to kick your feet up on the beach good restaurants close by like johns pass village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The rooms in the suites on the north side of the hotel wouldn't get cool but they finally at least provided a little relief by giving us a fan. The staff did a great job of making us feel welcome. Dot was our housekeeper and she was amazing. Our room smelled great and was spotless each day. She was also pleasant and accommodating. The pools need a bit more daily attention due to the high volume of people. Fun trip but would probably won't opt for suites next time.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Molly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

They had a pool for the kids and was a 5 minute walk to the ocean. Whenever you needed something they would give it to you. They also had a restaurant in the hotel. It was close to everything so you could walk to get food or just go shopping. It was an amazing hotel!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Absolutely impressed with this place! I will back! Every staff member I have come in contact with has been so friendly. They make me feel like they are here for no one but me. I so appreciate that! Michelle is the most amazing house keeper. She is "on top of it". She remembers you by name and what room you're in.The restaurant, Fiola's, is also very good. Great food and reasonable prices. I don't have to leave the premises for anything!

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of Michelle's rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valuzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute for a quick beach
getaway. Looked cute and classic online. We even saw some ok reviews?
Yikes, we drove in and were met with the most crowded parking lot. The staff was polite at check in, then we walked into the courtyard! It was packed with people, pool was tiny, filthy, and packed with screaming kids!
The tiki bar they boast about was like a tiki shed!
The hotel is sitting on the broadest part of the beach.. So enjoy a 1/2 mile walk to the water!
We booked the best room they had. Waterfront, no elevator to the third floor, dirty old carpets, funky old bathroom, shower was like being hosed by an old garden hose and the best part.. The bed, we still have no idea what it was made of but it was unnatural !
We planned our escape and canceled the second night about an hour after check in!
Not even a good deal.. There are much nicer beachy hotels on st. Pete beach!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrissygabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager10700, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for writing your review. I would like to start off by saying we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest a happy guest and I am sorry that we did not accomplish that with you. We have been very busy this year, even on the weekdays and you are right, we have been packed, and we are kid friendly and they do get a little noisy around the pool, we want them to have fun as well. Our tiki bar is very popular with guests and locals alike and most people seem to enjoy it's charms, even if it is a little small, I wouldn't call it a shed. Treasure Island boasts one of the widest beaches on the west coast of Florida and there really is nothing we can do about that, we do sit right on the edge of the sand of the beach, but it is a wide beach. A lot of guests like the largeness of it because you don't have other beach goers right on top of them. We use memory foam mattresses and most guests love them. Had you come to us with your complaints we may have been able to make amends, perhaps moved you to a room you liked better. Again, I apologize that your stay was an unhappy one. Perhaps in the future you will give us the opportunity to try and make up for your bad experience and show you the superior customer care we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#31 of 48 in Treasure Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $139 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing