We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
“Best staff ever!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A friend and I went for a couple days on the beach. The staff was so very helpful and pleasant. I could not have been treated better. I would like to thank Michelle G., Lou, BreeAnna, Missi, Amanda, Jonny and Michelle C. I look forward to revisiting the Thuderbird in Treasure Island, FL.

Room Tip: Pool side was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    444
    155
    65
    69
See reviews for
671
425
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We actually stayed here on vacation about 4 years ago but felt compelled to write a review when i received an advertisement from them in my email today. The Thunderbird is a great family hotel. We had a little kitchenette, we were right by the pool, their was a drum circle on the beach that we thoroughly enjoyed, the tiki bar was fun, the surrounding restaurants and bars were fun, it was a beautiful location, the prices were reasonable so we could spend more money doing other things...I've stayed in many luxury resorts but had as much fun if not more at the Thunderbird. I would definitely stay there again if I was heading to Treasure Island. Yes, the hotel is dated as it was probably built in the 50s but it's been nicely maintained (at least it was 4 years ago). And for the person who complained about the distance to the beach, that's just how it is in that area. Mother Nature created a very wide beach area with lots of sand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quaint & neat. Our room was nice & clean & recently updated. The outside bar is near ground level rooms & smoke would permeate the room. We had to leave patio door shut & couldn't set out without being choked by smoke. The beach is a long hike across rough shell filled sand. That is minor, just wish I had known it was that far. We didn't get housekeeping service at all. She came way to early & didn't return to clean until 4:30. We were back in room & cleaning up for the evening. Staff was very nice & i would probably stay there again, however I will check out other hotels closer to beach. Overall, we had a good time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The staff here is great, very friendly and helpful. Reminds me of a family-run business. The location was great, as was the pool and the beach (hotel is directly on the beach). We ended up not going to another theme park and just relaxed here for our final 3 days. Our 5-year old was perfectly content switching between the pool and the beach. The rooms were nice and clean. Free internet, free parking, free towels...were awesome as well, NO resort fee. They have chairs you can use for the beach (left behind by other travelers). We ate at the restaurant twice (delivered to our room), good food. There was music entertainment each night. Not crowded. Quite time was 11:00 pm. On Saturday, it was a bit noisy until then, but promptly stopped. The only negative (which I did not think of as a negative, but some might) is that it is an older place. But, I thought it added to the ambiance. I'd rather stay at a place like this than a large chain any day. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently stayed at the Thunderbird. The ads on the internet are deceiving as they show beautiful rooms and great ocean view. The hotel is ocean front, well sort of. You have to walk a distance to get there which is alright. The major complaints is with the service. The room service people left trash in our room the entire stay. It became a game to see how long the pizza box stayed in the room (3 days). I understand you get what you pay for and this place is cheap and ocean front. However, our room was connected to the one next door. It literally felt like we were sharing a room, I could hear the neighbor's conversations, the microwave, the toilet flushing, them going to the bathroom, shower, you name it. For us we went to have a quiet relaxing beach weekend and were awoken every morning by screaming children, toilets flushing and doors slamming.

Also the Tiki bar it great. It was nice to have a cocktail outside and have an ocean view. When I asked how late they were open the answer was "sunset but if there are people there the bar will stay open." Well we were having fun and tipping well I might add. There were at least 10 people at the little bar and the bartenders became rude and crabby insisting they needed to close. We left at 9:30 pm. Also, the whole time they are blasting music, not just on the weekends either til 9:30 on a Monday night loud music was playing.

The rooms are substandard. I felt like I was staying at a roadside inn on the beach. And the onsite restaurant was so-so.I guess, like I said you get what you pay for which isn't a lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced. The Hotel was outdated but clean. The staff were very friendly. Loved that it was right on the beach. Pool was fun with live music every evening. Close to St. Pete's beach and Clearwater. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mam00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean, staff was incredible and a great experience overall for the price in April. Kudos to Amanda at desk and Shelly in the restaurant. Ricky Ts is a blast so make sure to walk over there. Sunset was incredible!! Will return for sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bah4669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing