We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The staff here is great, very friendly and helpful. Reminds me of a family-run business. The location was great, as was the pool and the beach (hotel is directly on the beach). We ended up not going to another theme park and just relaxed here for our final 3 days. Our 5-year old was perfectly content switching between the pool and the beach. The rooms were nice and clean. Free internet, free parking, free towels...were awesome as well, NO resort fee. They have chairs you can use for the beach (left behind by other travelers). We ate at the restaurant twice (delivered to our room), good food. There was music entertainment each night. Not crowded. Quite time was 11:00 pm. On Saturday, it was a bit noisy until then, but promptly stopped. The only negative (which I did not think of as a negative, but some might) is that it is an older place. But, I thought it added to the ambiance. I'd rather stay at a place like this than a large chain any day. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently stayed at the Thunderbird. The ads on the internet are deceiving as they show beautiful rooms and great ocean view. The hotel is ocean front, well sort of. You have to walk a distance to get there which is alright. The major complaints is with the service. The room service people left trash in our room the entire stay. It became a game to see how long the pizza box stayed in the room (3 days). I understand you get what you pay for and this place is cheap and ocean front. However, our room was connected to the one next door. It literally felt like we were sharing a room, I could hear the neighbor's conversations, the microwave, the toilet flushing, them going to the bathroom, shower, you name it. For us we went to have a quiet relaxing beach weekend and were awoken every morning by screaming children, toilets flushing and doors slamming.

Also the Tiki bar it great. It was nice to have a cocktail outside and have an ocean view. When I asked how late they were open the answer was "sunset but if there are people there the bar will stay open." Well we were having fun and tipping well I might add. There were at least 10 people at the little bar and the bartenders became rude and crabby insisting they needed to close. We left at 9:30 pm. Also, the whole time they are blasting music, not just on the weekends either til 9:30 on a Monday night loud music was playing.

The rooms are substandard. I felt like I was staying at a roadside inn on the beach. And the onsite restaurant was so-so.I guess, like I said you get what you pay for which isn't a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced. The Hotel was outdated but clean. The staff were very friendly. Loved that it was right on the beach. Pool was fun with live music every evening. Close to St. Pete's beach and Clearwater. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mam00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean, staff was incredible and a great experience overall for the price in April. Kudos to Amanda at desk and Shelly in the restaurant. Ricky Ts is a blast so make sure to walk over there. Sunset was incredible!! Will return for sure.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank bah4669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

It's been so nice to come here and see the same employees and they make you feel right at home.Then you see other guests that been here before and you get to visit with them and PARTY with them. You become a big family here.This is home you have the Tiki Bar,live music by the pool.The beach and the Sunsets.The restaurant is soo good.You dont have to leave this place it has everthing Home away from Home.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had an amazing time during my stay. Fun people, especially Vlad at the Ikky Woo Woo's tiki bar. We loved having him participate in our dancing, while still doing a fantastic job bartending! He didn't leave anyone out. No regrets about this trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleylweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The only place I want to go whenever we go on vacation. Vlad the bartender definitely brightened the entire resort up daily, including dancing with his guests. Overall, a fantastic place to be filled with great people!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarleyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $140 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing