We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to be in the world!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Place to be in the world!!!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First, I have to say I should have done this review back in October when were had the pleasure of staying at the Thunderbird, but Carl was ill and I just didn't have the chance to do this. Our names are Carl & Kathy and this was our 2nd visit to Treasure Island and the Thunderbird. Our stay lasted was from 10/17 to 10/28. We had a wonderful time and hated to leave. I want the management of the hotel to know what wonderful people they have working for them. Michelle was our housekeeper and she is a 'gem'!! She made us feel like family and took care of our every need! Everyone was terrific and we look forward to coming back. The Tiki Bar, the front desk, HK. they all smiled, said Hi every day, we looked forward to seeing them all. I miss Michelle's smiling face and my morning hugs to this day. Thank you for all of your kindness and attention....we love you all! Carl & Kathy from Ohio:)

Room Tip: Stay here........it is just the best!!!! Love the pool, the scenery, the beach, the walk, the balloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katcarl1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    437
    153
    64
    69
See reviews for
665
421
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at the hotel as part of a family function. Hotel is right on the beach and the beach is clean. Hotel is clean and rooms are spacious. Hotel attracts people in the mood for a party so it is a little louder throughout the evening. Unfortunately, our trip was a bit marred by the toilet overflowing on first use, which would not have been a problem if a plunger had been present. I guess there is a tradeoff between functionality and aesthetics. (I vote functionality, but most hotels opt for aesthetics.) Maintenance was pleasant however, and the overall stay was positive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lzq97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was here with my family for a week and I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms were very nice,clean and spacious. It has been a few weeks since my visit and I would like to give big kudos to the friendly staff. We also met a nice housekeeper tamek my daughter would like to thank you for taking care of her doll "twinkles". Overall it was a great stay and my family will be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at Thunderbird for the first time. I say first time because we plan on returning. This place is so beautiful. We loved being right on the beach. The room was very clean and we loved the kitchenette. What stands out the most is the friendly helpful staff.The pool, restaurant and tiki bar were also excellent. I'm sure we found the place we will visit when going to Florida. A real gem.

Room Tip: I liked first floor beachside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sts S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

i travel here with my family once a year and every year i am amazed by the view, the people, and the staff. i would especially like to acknowledge, Janice the head housekeeper on her work she does. i never see her without a smile on her face nor does she ever just pass you without asking if you need anything! she also does a wonderful job cleaning and straightening up the room!

thank you for giving me such a great experience for yet another year! see you gus next winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would like to thank the Thunderbird for the beautiful week my daughter and I had this December. We asked for a room on the Gulf Side and we got it with a patio. The room was very clean and housekeeping was very friendly. We were in room 41 and our housekeeper should be commended for her friendliness and work ethic. I recommend the Thunderbird to every one who wants a safe clean room with a beautiful ocean with great waves to jump in. The beach, pool, and hot tub were not crowded. The in-house restaurant was great for breakfast. There was an Art show of sculptures made of sand. Very bo-ho chic.
Thanks again we will be back.

Room Tip: Main floor room with a Gulf view is most desirable to watch sunset. Instant access to walk on board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan46614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My daughter and I took our annual Florida vacation and decided to try out a new area. We really liked the Thunderbird resort. It had the ammenities we were looking for including a great tiki bar and complimentary breakfast items. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. We had a great view of the ocean and the beach is beautiful. The hotel is close to shops, restaurants and bars. We ended up missing our flight and stayed an additional night at the hotel. The staff was wonderful and gave us a discount. We will definitely stay at the Thunderbird resort when we go back to Treasure Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing