We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay at Thunderbird”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My daughter and I took our annual Florida vacation and decided to try out a new area. We really liked the Thunderbird resort. It had the ammenities we were looking for including a great tiki bar and complimentary breakfast items. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. We had a great view of the ocean and the beach is beautiful. The hotel is close to shops, restaurants and bars. We ended up missing our flight and stayed an additional night at the hotel. The staff was wonderful and gave us a discount. We will definitely stay at the Thunderbird resort when we go back to Treasure Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Treasure Island and we could not have stayed at a better place. We came down to attend the Buffalo Bills footbal game up in Tampa...it was a quick 30 minute ride.

The hotel is situated with a great view and openess to the beach. The pool/hotub area is a perfect spot to relax...along with the pool side bar. Minimal walking distance to many small local resturaunts and bars. Treasure island offers a free taxi service to shuttle you around. All you have to do is tip the cabi!

The hotel staff...especially Missi at the front desk...were super friendly and helpfull with resturant and bar selections. Highly recomend!!

Room Tip: Book early to get a room on th e second floor over looking the pool area...great view of everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Thunderbird Hotel on Beautiful Treasure Island. We were giving great accomadations booked by Louis . We stayed on the first floor in room 140. It could not have been nicer. The bartenders at the Tiki bar Lu and Valdamer were exccelent mixologists and kept our drinks fresh. They were very friendly as were all of the staff. Housekeepers Michelle and Tiffiney kept our room tidy and stocked our coffee and towels. All and all a great stay and Looking forward to returningsoon.

Room Tip: Gulf front View for wonderful views of the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weidlingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nites for Thanksgiving weekend it was a great time. Great Staff Mr.Bill kept the grounds and pool sparkling clean. Michelle our housekeeper did a great job. The rooms were immaculate. The whole resort is kept in great shape with a wonderful and helpful staff. The sunsets are the best sitting at the tiki bar with the music playing enjoying everyones company.The gentlemen that checked us in was very kind and helpful. GREAT TRIP for Thanksgiving vacation Will definitely return next for Thanksgiving vacation..Thank you Thunderbird resort....

Room Tip: No problems everything was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank higros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

As well seasoned travelers, normally going to Naples, Fl., we enjoyed our stay for numerous days in November 2013 at the Thunderbird Beach Resort. Being on the beach was such a plus with clean, white sand and natural dunes everywhere.
The pool, tiki bar and music were inviting, as well as the pristine grounds. Our oceanfront suite with the panoramic view of nightly sunsets was spectacular.
The staff: Johnney Anderson (was great), building engineer, Katrina Irizarry, manager, Janice, head of housekeeping and Amanda, front desk, were all kind and helpful.

Sincerely,
Jeff and Ann

Room Tip: If possible, try to book an oceanfront suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in late September and found the beach to be beautiful. We had an amazing view of the beach from our room, and found the staff to be most helpful and accommodating to our needs and desires. The rooms were immaculate, and food is plentiful in the local area. We had all of this for a VERY REASONABLE price! Thank you, Thunderbird resort, for a great trip!

Room Tip: My wife and I are fitness people, and there were no fitness facilities, but there is a fantastic YMC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJHFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in October with a couple of families. Lovely ground floor spacious room right outside was the pool. The room was lovely and clean and comfy beds!
The hotel was right on the beach which was an amazing view, the pool area with jacuzzi was lovely and the weather just made it perfect.
We had a small continental breakfast which was muffins, tea, coffee, juice etc.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and just wish we had stayed longer :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank emzzz910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $144 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing