We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Experience okay”
Reviewed July 15, 2008

FIrst time in this area of Florida (usuallly go to the panhandle(PCB). We had a gulf efficiency and it was much tinier the we are used to when farher North. The "kitchen" has a two burner stove and full oven. the fridge is a small one. Really no room to move around in there. I liked the beds, VERY comfortable. The room was clean, although at times it seemd infested by ants. Liked the gulf view balcony. Beach is nice, but way too far from the resort to the actual water (at least for old guys like me). Loved the Cabanas on the beach though. Grouper's restaurant had good food and polite staff. The staff of Thunderbird itself from the manager to the housekeepers all VERY friendly and helpful. One of the best hotel staffs I have ever encountered. Pool area and TIKI bar really nice. Hot tub way too small. Loved the nightly entertainment in the TIKI area. Great location for getting anywhere else in the Tampa/St Pete area. I will probably stay somewhere else next time, but only because I am 6'4" and 250 lbs and this big boy needs more room in the room, if you know what I mean. Plus, it is just too far across the beach to the water. Price is good in comparison with other resorts in the area. Overall, not bad.

  • Liked — The TIKI bar area
  • Disliked — Size of room and hot tub
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishmike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    437
    153
    64
    69
See reviews for
665
421
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2008

I have stayed at the Sea Castle many times over the last few years and I love it. It is a smaller hotel, nearby to larger ones. So you get the advantage of the smaller environment with the convenience of larger hotel amenities. Treasure Island is a beautiful beach and the staff at the Sea Castle is friendly, helpful and always willing to 'go the extra mile' to make your stay comfortable. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The second floor is great as you can sit on the walk way and enjoy the breezes and watch the pool or the beach. One of my very favorite places-reminds me of "old" Florida and family vacations. A very family friendly place, several restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

  • Liked — The friendly and courteous staff, the beautiful beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happymeSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbor Beach, FL
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Excellent accommodations at a reasonable price. Outstanding lady at check in- highly knowledgeable and anticipated questions, problems and solved them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price flux from 1 day to another
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cjon2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2008

GREAT location on Beach.
GREAT service.
Rooms very nice with that separate bedroom GREAT for families.
GREAT landscaping around pool and room area.
Will definately recommend it to family and friends.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRANNIMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The hotel is old but very clean and the staff is outstanding....The parking could use some improvement....The A/C went out on Sunday nite and when I went to check out I was told the entire hotel was given credit for the one nite....It was warm but not unmanagable...I thought that was very accomodating...and good customer service...Everything you need is within walking distance....I would go back in a heartbeat...

  • Liked — The fact that is had a living area and separate bedroom
  • Disliked — pull out bed was nasty
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davkath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My husband, teenaged son and I stayed here the last week of June. This is a very family friendly and clean hotel. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our only complaint is the air conditioning. Our room was fairly comfortable during the day, but at night it was unbearably hot (which I know sounds backward). We complained several times. Maintenance came and checked it out and said it was blowing cool air and everything seemed fine. However, that was only during the day. I also heard other guests complain and even noticed that one of them had bought a fan. We live in Florida and therefore, A/C is an absolute must. I think that the hotel could probably stand for a complete A/C overhaul. Other than that, we could not have asked for a better week of vacation. There are several shops and restaurants within walking distance, including a Walgreens.

  • Liked — Located on the beach.
  • Disliked — Air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinFl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We were booked at the Thunderbird the weekend of June 19, for 3 nights. We stayed about 6 hours.

Perhaps we are spoiled as our last 3 trips were to all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean, and I've never experienced such service and cleanliness in my life at those places.

On Treasure Island, the beach was lovely, the water was warm, the breeze was cool and steady, but the room was awful.

The kitchenette and the bathroom were full of bugs, the room smelled musty, the AC unit was unbearably loud in the room and gurgled and spat when one was on the balcony.

The free wi-fi connection was impossible - and we were told it was because we were in one of the towers, and that if we sat on the balcony (next to the gurgling AC unit) we might get a better connection. Since this was a working vacation, we needed a good internet connection, so this is what tipped the scales on our decision to depart.

After going to the beach and walking to Sloppy Joe's for a quick and early dinner, we got back to the room and the gross-out factor was overwhelming along with the lack of internet connectivity. We contacted the front desk and informed them we would be checking out. The clerk couldn't have been more helpful - we went into Tampa and stayed at a nice little inn near Ybor City and were much happier there.

If the internet worked and the AC was quiet and the place smelled fresh and the room was not infested with bugs, I still would not book again at the Thunderbird as it had more of a 'motel' feel than that of a 'resort.'

  • Liked — The front desk staff; the view of the ocean
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FireAtWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing